January 16, 2022

Buckeyes Debut at Zero Waste Invitational


ADDITIONAL INFO: 2022 Schedule | Athletics Sustainability | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State synchronized (artistic) swimming team officially began its 2022 campaign on Sunday, hosting Michigan in the annual Zero Waste Invitational. The Buckeyes debuted four solo, five duet and three trio routines in its 96-71 win over the Wolverines.

Twenty-one Buckeyes swam technical routines to start the day. Nikki Dzurko led Ohio State with a score of 80.0449 in the Technical A competition.

Dzurko continued her dominant return to the Buckeye roster as she opened the afternoon with a first-place solo routine. The senior scored a team-high 85.1000 for her second best collegiate solo performance, runner up to her 2019 national championship routine. She was followed in second place by Olivia Malloy, who’s strong routine earned her a career-best score of 78.7500.

In the duet, Laila Huric and Dzurko reunited for a first-place routine. The pair earned a score of 83.5500 to continue Ohio State’s successful season-opener and earn their seventh overall first-place finish for their career. The duo of Team Canada Tokyo Olympian Emily Armstrong and Team USA Olympic duet alternate Ruby Remati earned second in their collegiate duet debut with a score of 82.4500.

Closing out the afternoon in the trio competition, Armstrong, Remati and Cassie Neeley led the way with a score of 78.3500. Hannah Heffernan, Paige Hopper and Rachel Jagger followed with a score of 78.0500 for second place while Haley Watson, Megan Wong and Paula Luis finished third with a score of 75.9000.

Overall, each of Ohio State’s four freshmen – Armstrong, Remati, Heffernan and Marian Catahan – competed in the team’s first outing of the year.

The team returns to action on Feb. 5 for the Jessica Beck Memorial Invitational at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.


2022 OSU Zero Waste Invitational Results


  1. Nikki Dzurko – 85.1000
  2. Olivia Malloy – 78.7500
  3. Olivia Schafer – 77.3500
  4. Camryn Carrasco – 76.5000
  5. Isabella Liu – 67.2000
  6. Danielle Vermeer – 63.5250


  1. Nikki Dzurko, Laila Huric – 83.550
  2. Emily Armstrong, Ruby Remati – 82.4500
  3. Camryn Carrasco, Rose Homoelle – 78.8500
  4. Carol Walsh, Victoria Carlson – 76.0250
  5. Marian Catahan, Trinity Patton – 74.7250
  6. Isabella Balza, Victoria Balza – 66.7750
  7. Meredith Gilbert, Sissie Liang – 53.8250
  8. Sana Sharba, Abigail Vandermolen – 51.6000


  1. Emily Armstrong, Ruby Remati, Cassie Neeley – 78.3500
  2. Hannah Heffernan, Paige Hopper, Rachel Jager – 78.0500
  3. Haley Watson, Megan Wong, Paula Luis – 75.9000
  4. Anna Efstate, Anishka Taneja, Danielle Vermeer – 60.6750