COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State fencing team extended its streak of Top 5 finishes at the NCAA championships to 10 seasons with a fifth-place finish Sunday at home in Columbus, Ohio. Freshman Katarzyna Dabrowa led the Buckeye women, finishing tied for third in epee.

Notre Dame took home the title with 174 points, holding off 2010 champion Penn State, who finished with 168 points. St. John’s and Princeton followed in third and fourth with 155 and 150 points, respectively. The Buckeyes’ 148 points topped their 139-point effort from last year, which landed them in fourth in 2010.

Men and women’s competition combined, the Scarlet and Gray finished with two first-team All-Americans, two second-team All-Americans and three honorable mentions.

Ohio State’s 30 victories in women’s epee was second to only Notre Dame (31). At the top of the list for the Buckeyes was freshman Dabrowa, who entered the category’s final four with 19 wins and a +48 indicator in pool play.

The second-seeded Wroclaw, Poland, native faced third seed Courtney Hurley of Notre Dame in the semifinal bout. The two epeeists couldn’t decide a winner in the allotted three three-minute time periods and instead went to the supplemental one-minute final with the score knotted at nine apiece. Hurley, who would go on to win the championship bout, scored the winning touch moments into the period to advance, 10-9. Earlier in the competition, Dabrowa defeated Hurley, 5-1, along with runner-up Noam Mills of Harvard, 2-1.

Freshman Caroline Piasecka took 15th in epee with 11 victories and a +0 indicator, the only even indicator of the event.

Junior Margarita Tschomakova turned in her second-consecutive Top 5 finish at the NCAA championships with a fifth-place performance. Tschomakova missed the final four of women’s sabre by a single win after claiming 16 victories with a +20 indicator. Teammate Alison Miller picked up 10 wins to finish 16th, where she finished following the 2010 NCAA Championships.

Tschomakova picked up wina against women’s epee champion Rebecca Ward of Duke, 5-4, and runner-up Eliza Stone of Princeton, 5-4, in pool play.

Four-time NCAA participant Oksana Dmytruk capped off her collegiate career with 13 victories in women’s foil to capture 11th. Allison Henvick improved upon her 2010 performance of 12 wins, this time collecting 14 victories with a +30 indicator to finish ninth.

2011 NCAA Championships
Columbus, Ohio
March 24-27

Ohio State Individual Results
Women’s Epee

T3, Katarzyna Dabrowa
15. Caroline Piasecka

Women’s Foil
9. Allison Henvick
11. Oksana Dmytruk

Women’s Sabre
5. Margarita Tschomakova
16. Alison Miller

Men’s Epee
T3. Marco Canevari
5. Igor Tolkachev

Men’s Foil
10. Zain Shaito
24. Samuel Hardwicke-Brown

Men’s Sabre
10. Rhys Douglas
23. Michael Douville