January 27, 2017

Buckeyes Blank Utah 4-0 on Day 1 of ITA Kickoff Weekend


Jan. 27, 2017

Final Stats


2016-17 Schedule
2016-17 Stats
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State opened the 2017 ITA Kickoff Weekend with a 4-0 sweep of Utah on Friday at the OSU Varsity Tennis Center.

The win was the fifth-straight sweep for the Buckeyes to open the season and propels them into a matchup with Old Dominion on Saturday afternoon. The winner of that match will advance to the ITA National Indoor Team Championship in Charlottesville, Va. On Feb. 17-20.

In the first meeting between the two schools, the Buckeyes were the first to gain the upper hand by winning a hard-fought doubles point. Matt Mendez and Hunter Tubert, the 2016 Big Ten doubles champions, continued their hot start with a 6-1 win over Slava Shainyan and Parker McGuiness. Mikael Torpegaard and Herkko Pollanen traded breaks with Joe Woolley and Dan Little on court one before eventually winning the match 6-4.

Redshirt-freshman Kyle Seelig remained on his game as he won 6-0, 6-3 over Woolley on court five. Seelig is now 4-0 on the year and has yet to drop a set. The Buckeyes second win came from Torpegaard on court one as he rolled to a 6-2, 6-4 victory over David Micevski. Hugo Di Feo then capped the match with his straight-set (6-2, 6-3) triumph over Santiago Sierra on court three.

Saturday’s match between Ohio State and Old Dominion will begin at 4 p.m. The two women’s semifinal matches of the ITA Kickoff Weekend will precede the men’s finale. Admission is free to all Ohio State tennis matches.

#3 Ohio State 4, Utah 0

1. #2 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. David Micevski (UTAH) 6-4, 6-2
2. JJ Wolf (OSU) vs. Dan Little (UTAH) 3-6, 6-4, unfinished
3. #5 Hugo Di Feo (OSU) def. Santiago Sierra (UTAH) 6-2, 6-3
4. #34 Herkko Pollanen (OSU) vs. Parker McGuiness (UTAH) 3-6, 6-3, unfinished
5. Kyle Seelig (OSU) def. Joe Woolley (UTAH) 6-0, 6-3
6. #53 Martin Joyce (OSU) vs. Slava Shainyan (UTAH) 6-2, 3-6, 1-1, unfinished

1. #55 Mikael Torpegaard/Herkko Pollanen (OSU) def. Joe Woolley/Dan Little (UTAH) 6-4
2. #25 Martin Joyce/Hugo Di Feo (OSU) vs. Egbert Weverink/Santiago Sierra (UTAH) 4-5, unfinished
3. Hunter Tubert/Matt Mendez (OSU) def. Slava Shainyan/Parker McGuiness (UTAH) 6-1

Order of finish: Doubles (3,1); Singles (5,1,3)
Official: Marcus Lee  T-1:59  A-47