COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team will host the Wright State Raiders Friday at 5 p.m. in the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. The Buckeyes have not competed since the first weekend in December, when they took first in the 12-team field at the AT&T U.S. Short Course National Championships, but they have certainly practiced hard, including spending a week in Florida for a rigorous week of training and bonding.

Live Meet Scoring
Can’t make it to the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion to see the meet live? Visit the home page for the Ohio State men’s swimming team at for a link to the live results. Admission, as always, is free if attending the meet.

Order of Events
The meet will be run with alternating women’s and men’s races with two breaks for 1- and 3-meter diving competitions. The order of events will be:

  • 200 medley relay
  • 1000 free
  • 200 free
  • 100 back
  • 100 breast
  • 200 fly
  • 50 free
  • 3-meter diving
  • 100 free
  • 200 back
  • 200 breast
  • 500 free
  • 100 fly
  • 1-meter diving
  • 200 IM
  • 200 free relay

Bucks 7th Nationally
That win at the National Championships, contested at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion, has enabled the Buckeyes to climb one spot to No. 7 in the latest TYR/College Swimming Coaches Association of America Top 25 poll. The Buckeyes are the highest-ranked Big Ten Conference team.

Ohio State…To Date
Coach Bill Wadley’s men’s team is 5-0 this season and, as mentioned, is coming off a huge win over a 12-team field at the AT&T U.S. Short Course National Championships.  The team has dual meet wins over Kenyon, Cleveland State, Denison, Miami and Tennessee. The Buckeyes also  have a runner-up finish at the seven-team Purdue Invitational.

57 and Counting…
Ohio State will be vying for its 58th consecutive dual meet win over another Ohio school Friday. The team has not lost a dual meet to an Ohio school in 12 years, with the last loss coming to Cincinnati during the 1997-98 season.

Wright State Update
The Raiders, under the direction of swimming coach Sion Brinn and diving coach Liyi Wang, are 2-4 so far this season. The team defeated Tampa in a relay dual meet Dec. 7 in its last competitive competition. Wright State was fourth at the 2010 Horizon League championships.

Since You’ve Been Gone
Lots has happened with Ohio State swimming over the course of the last month. Among the most notable are the following:

  • Senior Ben Savonen and two juniors – Andrew Elliott and Lincoln Fahrbach – were named captains of the defending Big Ten champion Buckeyes. Selected by a team vote, the three chosen exemplify the dedication, perseverance and overall spirit of the collective group.
  • Tim Phillips competed for Team USA at the 2010 FINA Short Course World Swimming Championships in Dubai. Phillips was part of a U.S. team of 19 men’s swimmers.
  • Justin Farra was named the the Big Ten Conference Swimmer of the Week after leading Ohio State to the team championship at the AT&T U.S. Short Course National Championships. Swimming against a stacked field of competitors that included Olympians, NCAA champions and other big time competitors from major colleges and top professional teams from around the country, Farra was the second-highest collegiate scorer at the meet with 50 points to trail only Thomas Shields of California, who scored 64. He swam intwo finals and two consolation finals and in the process he set a school record in the 200 individual medley with a preliminary race time of 1:45.30.
  • Freshman diver Shane Miszkiel swept first-place on all three boards at the Hawkeye Invitational in early December. He won on three-meter with a score of 389.05 points and followed that with wins on the 1-meter springboard (367.05) and the 10-meter platform (373.5).

More That’s Cool from the Pool
At the conclusion of 2010, Buckeyes had the fastest time in the Big Ten in seven events: 50 free (Jason Schnur); 500 and 1,650 freestyles (Brent Hitchcock); 100 backstroke (Andrew Elliott); 100 and 200 breaststroke (Elliott Keefer); and the 200 individual medley (Justin Farra). A few more Big Ten notes:

  • Buckeyes have multiple Top 10 times in 13 of 14 events.
  • Buckeyes with Top 5 times, in addition to those with the fastest times in the conference, include Lincoln Fahrbach (50 free), Stephen Sakaris (200 free), Ty Perkins (1,650 free), Andrew Elliott and Markus Sievers (200 backstroke), Justin Farra (100 and 200 breaststroke; 400 individual medley), Tim Phillips (100 butterfly), Quincy Lee (100 and 200 butterfly), Luke Stirton (200 fly) and Phil Seleskie (400 individual medley).    

Big Ten Coach of the Year Bill Wadley
Bill Wadley, the 2010 Big Ten Coach of the Year, is in his 22nd year at Ohio State and he has an Ohio State dual meet record of 191-34. He has coached 15 Olympians and his teams have been ranked in the NCAA Top 25 for 18 of the past 21 seasons. Buckeye swimmers and divers have qualified for the NCAA championships in 19 of Wadley’s 21 years as coach. Wadley has also produced more than 35 world ranked swimmers.
Diving Coach Vince Panzano
Vince Panzano is in his 33rd year as coach at his alma mater. He has produced one world champion, one junior world champion, two Olympic medalists, 23 U.S. diving champions, 12 NCAA champions, 16 NCAA runners-up, 54 Big Ten champions and 86 All-Americans. Panzano also has coached Ohio State and McDonald’s Diving to six national team titles. He has had divers on five of the last six Olympic Teams.