Oct. 20, 2005

ORLANDO– The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO), the organization which annually presents the prestigious Butkus Award to the nation’s best collegiate linebacker has announced the 10 semi-finalists for this year’s award. The Butkus Award and the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. are celebrating their 21st anniversary in 2005.

The semi-finalist list will be cut down to three finalists which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award officials on Thursday, November 10. The winner will be announced Saturday, December 10, 2005 at the Butkus Award Gala in Orlando, FL. The Butkus Award will be presented to the winner by the award’s namesake former University of Illinois and Chicago Bear NFL Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus. The finalists, their coaches and families are invited to attend the Butkus Award Gala festivities including a welcome reception, golf tournament and silent auction.

The independent Butkus Award Selection Committee for the 2005 Butkus Award, comprised of the nation’s foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have been evaluating the candidates since the beginning of the season and will continue their review throughout the entire football season. Voting for the three Butkus Award finalists and the Butkus Award winner will be conducted by confidential ballots of the Butkus Award Selection Committee.

The Butkus Award is regarded as one of the most elite individual honors in college football. Past recipients include such outstanding linebackers as: Derrick Johnson (2004-Texas)

Teddy Lehman (2003-Oklahoma); E.J. Henderson (2002-Maryland); Rocky Calmus (2001-Oklahoma); Dan Morgan (2000-Miami (FL); LaVar Arrington (1999-Penn State);

Chris Claiborne (1998-Southern California); Andy Katzenmoyer (1997-Ohio State); Matt Russell (1996 Colorado); Kevin Hardy (1995-Illinois); Dana Howard (1994-Illinois); Trev Alberts (1993-Nebraska); Marvin Jones (1992-Florida State); Erick Anderson (1991-Michigan); Alfred Williams (1990-Colorado); Percy Snow (1989-Michigan State); Derrick Thomas (1988-Alabama); Paul McGowan (1997-Florida State); and Brian Bosworth (1985 and 1986-Oklahoma). Created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando Inc., the Butkus Award carries the name and support of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus. 2005 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists
Chad Greenway, Iowa
Aaron Harris, Texas
Spencer Havner, UCLA
A.J. Hawk, Ohio State
D’Qwell Jackson, Maryland
Tim McGarigle, Northwestern
AJ Nicholson, Florida State
Paul Posluszny, Penn State
DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
Ernie Sims, Florida State