April 17, 2019

Buckeyes’ 2019-20 Big Ten Opponents Announced


RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2019-20 men’s basketball conference opponent breakdown Wednesday. Dates and times will be announced at a later date.

The regular-season league champion will again be determined following a 20-game schedule. The Big Ten went to a 20-game schedule for the first time in 2018-19.

Ohio State will play Minnesota, Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Maryland, Wisconsin and Nebraska both in Columbus and on the road (home-and-home) in 2019-20. The Buckeyes travel only to Iowa, Michigan State and Northwestern. Illinois, Purdue and Rutgers will play Ohio State in Columbus only.

The Big Ten Conference champion was determined following a consistent 12-game league schedule from 1920 to 1950. The league schedule went to 14 games from 1951 to 1974 and then to 18 games from 1975 to 1997.

The conference dropped to a 16-game schedule from 1998 to 2007. The league champion was determined following an 18-game schedule from 2008 through 2018.

Ohio State has won 20 Big Ten Conference men’s basketball regular-season championships in its history. The first was in 1925 (11-1).

Ohio State’s Big Ten Championships by Length of Conference Season
12-game (1925, 1933, 1939. 1944, 1946, 1950)
14-game (1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1968, 1971)
16-game (2006, 2007)
18 game (1991, 1992, 2010, 2011, 2012)