April 6, 2018

Buckeye Tanner Laczynski Earns All-America Honors


COLUMBUS, Ohio –Tanner Laczynski, a sophomore forward on the Ohio State men’s hockey team, has been named a 2017-18 CCM/AHCA Second Team West All-American, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Friday.

In all, 24 players were named to the All-America teams as selected by members of the AHCA, with Laczynski one of six forwards (one of two from the Big Ten) on the west squad.

Laczynski, a First Team All-Big Ten honoree, had a team-best 30 assists and 47 points on the year, ranking second with 17 goals. He is second in points among Big Ten skaters and 11th nationally. The sophomore was +18 on the year, ranking 19th (tied) in the NCAA overall and tying for seventh among forwards. He had a point in 28 of 41 games, with 14 multiple-point outings.

A native of Shorewood, Illinois, Laczynski was named to both the Big Ten and NCAA Midwest Regional All-Tournament Teams. He had a point in six of the Buckeyes’ seven postseason games (including each of the last five). In postseason play, Laczynski totaled a 3-5-8 line, with four points (2g, 2a) in NCAA play.

Through 75 games with the Scarlet and Gray, Laczynski has 79 points on 27 goals and 52 assists. He is second in points among 2017-18 NCAA sophomores and ranks fourth among sophomores and 13th among all sophomores/juniors/seniors with 1.05 points per game.

A sport industry major, Laczynski is a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and an Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Laczynski earns the 11th AHCA First or Second Team All-America honor for the Buckeyes. Junior forward Mason Jobst was recognized last year, giving the squad back-to-back honorees for the first time since 2013 and ‘14.

The Buckeyes’ AHCA First Team All-Americans are forwards Ryan Dzingel (2014), Hugo Boisvert (1998) and Paul Pooley (1984) and goalie Brady Hjelle (2013). Boisvert was also a Second Team All-American in 1999 and is the only two-time AHCA All-American in school history. Joining Laczynski as Second Team All-Americans are forwards Jobst, Zac Dalpe (2010), RJ Umberger(2003) and Perry Pooley (1984) and goalie Jeff Maund (1999).