Feb. 25, 2005

Columbus, Ohio – Three Ohio State divers finished in the Top 8 on the 3-meter springboard during the second day of competition at the 2005 Men’s Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships in Minneapolis, Minn. Mitch Richeson finished second with 650.20 points, with Indiana’s Marc Carlton scoring 17.10 points higher. Richeson, a senior from Greenwood, Ind. (Greenwood) recorded a season-high score for the Buckeyes.

Nick Hanneman (Jr., Upper Arlington, Ohio/Upper Arlington) came in seventh for the Buckeyes with 555.85. Hanneman entered the finals in second place behind Carlton. Kellen Harkness (So., Puyallup, Wash./Cascade Christian), who entered the finals directly behind Hanneman in third, recorded 548.65 points in the finals to finish eighth.

Rob Kauscher (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio/Anderson) clocked in at 54.55 in the 100-yard breaststroke, placing fourth. His preliminary time of 54.16 is the second fastest time in Ohio State history, a lifetime-best for Kauscher, an NCAA `B’ qualifying time and a United States National qualifying time. Matt Jeffries (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Perry Meridian) also clocked in a lifetime-best, an NCAA `B’ qualifying time and a U.S. National qualifying time during preliminaries, hitting the wall in 55.40.

Nate King (So., Youngstown, Ohio/Warren Harding) continued his success at the meet, placing 11th in the 400-yard individual medley. King recorded a lifetime-best time of 3:53.64. This time was also an NCAA `B’ qualifying, a U.S. Nationals qualifying time and ranks second in Ohio State history. Gary Grant (So., Wood-Ridge, N.J./Bergen Catholic) finished 11th in the 100-yard butterfly, clocking in at 48.76. Earlier in preliminaries, Grant recorded a lifetime-best time and a U.S. National qualifying time with a time of 48.70. In the 100-yard backstroke the Buckeyes had two individual lifetime-best times and U.S. National Qualifying times during preliminaries. R.J. Lemyre (So., Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington) clocked in at 49.46 and Daniel Novak (Fr., Sao Paulo, Brazil/Foothill Knight) hit the wall at 49.66. In the finals, Lemyre placed eighth with a time of 49.65 and Novak placed 16th, clocking in at 50.41.

The Buckeye relay teams had a second successful night. The 200-yard medley relay team, composed of Lemyre, Kauscher, Grant, and Tommy Seay (Sr., Buffalo, N.Y./McKinley) clocked in at 1:29.28 to place seventh. The time was a season-best time for the Buckeyes, an NCAA `B’ qualifying time along with ranking third in Ohio State history. The 800-yard freestyle relay team clocked in eighth for the Buckeyes, recording a time of 6:38.75. The freestyle team was made up of King, Mike Tomes (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio/Univ. of Evansville), Adam Braun (Jr., Berkley, Mich./Berkley), and Joe Doyle (So., Centerburg, Ohio/Centerburg).

Following the second night of Big Ten action, the Buckeyes were in fifth-place with 240 points. Minnesota, which is serving as the host of the meet, has 469 points and leads all teams in the standings, followed by Indiana with 468 points in second. The 2005 Big Ten Championships continue through Saturday.

Friday Results 200-yard medley relayL 1. Northwestern 1:26.49 7. Ohio State 1:29.28

400-yard individual medley 1. Peter Vanderkaay (MICH) 3:44.55 11. Nate King 3:53.64 18. Brian Tiemeier 3:58.23

100-yard butterfly 1. Kyle Bubolz ((NW) 46.46 11. Gary Grant 48.76 20. Chris Stoneburg 50.19 21. Blake Foltz 50.24 42. David Okeson 52.60

200-yard freestyle 1. Terry Silkaitis (MINN) 1:34.24 17. Joe Doyle 1:39.46 19. Mike Tomes 1:39.72 24. Adam Braun 1:40.26 28. Tommy Seay 1:40.85 34. Matt Voelker 1:42.54 45. Michael Byrnes 1:44.27 46. Jeroen LeCoutere 1:44.28

100-yard breaststroke 1.Mike Alexandrov (NW) 53.33 4. Rob Kauscher 54.55 12. Matt Jeffries 55.66 34. Matt Celik 1:00.09 36. Logan Westcott 1:02.21

100-yard backstroke 1. Matt Grevers (NW) 45.92 8. R.J. Lemyre 49.65 16. Daniel Novak 50.41 17. Chris Stoneburg 50.46 21. Ben Prater 51.99

800-yard freestyle relay 1. Michigan 6:21.77 8. Ohio State 6:38.75

3-meter springboard 2. Mitch Richeson 650.20 7. Nick Hanneman 555.85 8. Kellen Harkness 548.65 12. Marc Dreyer 501.25

Team Standings Following 14 Events 1. Minnesota 469 2. Indiana 468 3. Northwestern 327 4. Michigan 282 5. Ohio State 240 6. Purdue 213 7. Wisconsin 191 8. Penn State 184 9. Michigan State 138 10. Iowa 82