Feb. 19, 2005


Columbus, Ohio – Griet Buelens won the 200-yard butterfly to become the first Ohio State swimmer to win a Big Ten championship since 1995. Buelens, a native of Kapelle, Belgium (Ursulinen Mechelen), out-raced all other opponents to a 1:59.09 finish, recording not only a season-best time, but the best time in Ohio State history and an NCAA `B’ qualifying time, her second in this event. Buelens qualified earlier in the meet with the fifth-fastest time in preliminaries, clocking in at 2:01.71. Jocelyn Jay had won the last conference swimming championship, winning both the 500-yard freestyle and the 400-yard IM in 1995.

Buelens was joined in the 200-yard butterfly championship final with two other Buckeyes. Nicole Maglich (Jr., Sarasota, Fla./Sarasota), already a finalist this meet, placed fifth in the final and claimed another NCAA `B’ qualifying time (2:01.31) after finishing third in the preliminary heat. Gulsah Gunenc (So., Edirne, Turkey/Edirne Anatolian) finished seventh for the Buckeyes clocking in at 2:02.11.

“We’re really excited,” head coach Jeanne Fleck said. “Griet is the first Big Ten champion (from Ohio State) since Jocelyn Jay in swimming. It was awesome. It was a great race, our 200 flyers just did a great job and we’re very excited since we might have a two girls going to NCAAs to compete in three events.”

Kylie Lancken (Sr., Pymble, Australia/Ravenswood) set a season-best time in the 200-yard backstroke, finishing 17th with a time of 2:03.63. Kearstin Hetrick (Sr., Copley, Ohio/Copley) was the only competitor for the Buckeyes in the 1,650-yard freestyle and clocked in at 18:45.39 to place 26th. Abigail Granstein (Sr., Wichita, Kan./Wichita East) was the highest placing Buckeye at 46th in the 100-yard freestyle, hitting the wall in 52.41. Rebekah Rychvalsky (So., Sydney, Australia/Castle Hill) finished 25th in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:23.05. In the diving well, the Buckeyes finished out the competition on the platform. Anesa Beard (So., Franklin, Ind./Franklin Community) was the highest scoring Buckeye, placing 20th with a score of 303.15.

Ohio State finished the meet in 10th place with 199 points. Penn State claimed the 2005 Big Ten Championship, beating out Indiana by 196 points, 693-497. The Buckeyes recorded two lifetime-best and one season-best times during competition Saturday, bringing the total to 16 lifetime-best and 11 season-best times during the meet. Julie Broms (So., Springfield, Ill./North Central) won the only other Big Ten championship at the meet, claiming the 3-meter diving event Friday with a score of 583.45 points, an Ohio State record.

Buckeye divers travel to NCAA Zone Qualifying competition in West Lafayette, Ind., March 11-13. Qualified divers and swimmers will then head to the 2005 NCAA Championship, also in West Lafayette, Ind., March 17-19.

Saturday Event Results 100-yard freestyle 1. Lindsay Smith (Mich.) 48.80 46. Abigail Granstein 52:41 53. Annie Rennebohm 52.78 56. Linda Lund 52.96 61. Morgan O’Connor 53.23 63. Ashley Barnes 53.28 64. Katie Kolles 53.34 73. Kristina Lipskis 54.31 76. Kati Wall 54.40 78. Erin Greene 54.92 79. Katie Kellner 54.98 84. Dana Lipskis 56.26

1,650-yard freestyle 1. Carly Piper (Wis.) 16:11.76 26. Kearstin Hetrick 18:35.49

200-yard butterfly 1. Griet Buelens 1:59.09 5. Nicole Maglich 2:01.32 7. Gulsah Gunenc 2:02.11 48. Natalie Bojko 2:16.96

200-yard breaststroke 1. Justine Mueller (Mich.) 2:12.81 25. Rebekah Rychvalsky 2:23.05 33. Erin Church 2:27.44 34. Samantha Johnson 2:27.83

200-yard backstroke 1. Susan Johnson (Wis.) 1:56.87 17. Kylie Lancken 2:03.63 23. Stephanie Fennell 2:04.77

Platform 1. Cass Cardinell (IND) 539.15 20. Anesa Beard 303.15 22. Julie Broms 293.60

400-yard freestyle relay 1. Michigan 3:19.69 11. Ohio State 3:27.45

Women – Team Rankings – Final 1. Penn State 693 2. Indiana 497 3. Wisconsin 479 4. Michigan 474 5. Purdue 399 6 Minnesota 314 7. Northwestern 293 8. Iowa 218 9. Illinois 203 10. Ohio State 199 11. Michigan State 84

For complete final results, please visit the Indiana University website.