Feb. 22, 2005

Columbus, Ohio – Both Griet Buelens and Julie Broms have been named All-Big Ten First Team following their performances at the 2005 Big Ten Championships. Buelens, from Kapelle, Belgium (Ursulinen Mechelen), won the Big Ten title in the 200-yard butterfly, while Broms, from Springfield, Ill. (North Central), claimed the Big Ten title on the 3-meter springboard.

Buelens is the first swimming Big Ten champion since Jocelyn Jay won the 500-yard freestyle and the 400-yard individual medley in 1995. Buelens 1:59.09 is the fastest time in Ohio State history and an NCAA `B’ qualifying time.

Broms won the 3-meter board with a season-high score of 583.45 points, the highest accumulation of points in Ohio State diving history. Broms edged out Indiana diver Christina Loukas by three points after entering the finals in third with 534.55 points in preliminary rounds.

Kearstin Hetrick (Sr., Copley, Ohio/Copley) was honored with the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, for which one member of each team was named. This is the first time the award has been announced at the Big Ten conference meet and was selected by each squad’s head coach.

The Buckeye squad placed 10th overall, scoring 199 points throughout the four-day meet. The team had 16 lifetime-best times recorded along with 11 season-best times. The team had six NCAA `B’ qualifying times recorded, including four by Nicole Maglich (Jr., Sarasota, Fla./Sarasota).

Select members of the Ohio State squad will be traveling to Bloomington, Ind. again this weekend for the Indiana Last Ditch meet in attempt to record or improve NCAA qualifying times. Buckeye divers will travel to West Lafayette, Ind. for the NCAA Zone diving qualifiers March 11-13.