Feb. 22, 2016

Junior fencer Alexa Antipas currently leads the women’s sabre fencing unit, earning a season and unit-high record of 23-1 at this year’s OSU Duals. The Stony Brook, N.Y. native has garnered a winning record at every competition for the Buckeyes, most recently tallying an 18-12 record at Northwestern Duals. Antipas is currently gearing up for Midwest Fencing Conference Championships this weekend at French Field House.

Student Life

  • Do you prefer Oval Beach in the Fall or Spring (or maybe the Winter)? Spring
  • Where is the best place to sit for lectures? Off to the side so you don’t make awkward eye contact with the professor.
  • Most underrated place to study on campus? I usually don’t study on campus because I get distracted too easily.
  • Why did you choose to major in …? Fashion and Retail Studies- I love clothing and I’ve always enjoyed designing so Fashion and Retail Studies gave me the best of both worlds.
  • Describe your first day as a student at The Ohio State University? I read my schedule wrong and went to the wrong building… I was super late and had to sit on the floor because there were no seats. So it was pretty embarrassing.

Popular Culture

  • Favorite TV show – Law and Order SVU
  • Favorite movie – Harry Potter
  • Favorite book and/or magazine – Looking For Alaska by John Green
  • Favorite celebrity – Julianne Hough
  • Favorite singer or musical group – Taylor Swift
  • Last concert I attended was – Blake Shelton, Jana Kramer, Easton Corbin


  • Favorite athlete – Morgan Mzhen
  • The athlete I would most like to compete against – Mona Shaito- “she tiger”
  • Favorite athletic memory – I was the first alternate to go to a Cadet World Cup in London and two weeks before the competition, I was cleared to go and ended up taking 7th place. It was one of the best experiences I’ve had in fencing.
  • Team you’re most looking forward to competing against – Notre Dame because my brother is a freshman on the team and it’s always fun to have a little family rivalry.
  • Pre-game/match superstition/Pre-game/match ritual – I have to listen to the same playlist while I warm up.
  • What is your top skill? What skill do you need to improve? I’m pretty fast so I can move well on the strip but emotionally; I’m not that strong so it would help if my emotions stayed constant throughout my fencing.


  • Most interesting place I’ve visited – Paris, France
  • Place I would like to visit – Australia


  • Favorite home cooked meal – Pizza
  • Favorite snack food – Pizza
  • Guilty pleasure snack and/or food – Pizza


  • Person I most admire – I can’t say I admire only one person because I admire both my parents. They’ve done so much for me to get me where I am today and I couldn’t thank them enough.
  • The greatest risk I’ve ever taken was – Committing to The Ohio State University before I had an official visit. It was a good risk though.
  • In 10 years, I would like to be – A clothing designer with a family enjoying life wherever it takes me.
  • If I had a million dollar – Give some to my parents, save some, spend some on clothes (I can never have too much clothing) and donate some.
  • Coolest thing you did this past summer – I got to spend a lot of time with my family so I’d say that’s pretty cool.
  • Most prized possession – My camera would probably be my most prized possession just because it helps capture all the moments in my life.
  • I would like to trade places for a day with – Alanna Goldie. It’d be cool to be a superstar for a day.
  • If you could have dinner with any 3 people (alive or dead), who would they be and what/where would you eat – Taylor Swift, Selena Gomez, and Beyoncé–I’d take them to my favorite pizza place.
  • Any superstitions, non-game/match related — If I don’t use a certain weapon while I fence, I feel off balanced.
  • Dream event (non-sport or sport-related) you would like to attend – The Olympics – that’d be beyond amazing.
  • If your parents/guardians bragged about you, what would they say? They’d probably talk about my fencing and how I’m loving Ohio State.
  • Do you have an interesting nickname? Usually my nickname is Lex but people that can’t pronounce my last name right call me Antipasta.
  • What is your hometown known for? We don’t really have anything in particular that we’re known for but we live along the shoreline so you’re walking distance to the beach.
  • Cats or Dogs? Cats–cat lady for life.
  • Early Bird or Night Owl? Night owl. Who enjoys getting up early?
  • Would you be the O, H, I or the O in a picture? O.