February 22, 2019

Buckeye Duo Throws a No-Hitter to Beat Army

Share

RELATED INFO

PALM SPRINGS, Calif. – Throw a no-hitter. Hit a grand slam. That’s what the Ohio State softball team did on Friday afternoon to earn a 4-0 win over Army in its Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic opener. The victory lifts the Buckeyes to 5-4 overall while the Black Knights fall to 4-8.

IN THE CIRCLE

Skylar Hayward and Morgan Ray came together to fan 10 batters on their way to throwing a no-no. Hayward lasted a career-high five innings while Ray tossed the final two innings. Both right-handed pitchers struck out five Black Knights, a career best for Hayward.

Ohio State Buckeyes

WHAT HAPPENED

It was a defensive battle on both sides until the Buckeyes broke the stalemate in the bottom of the sixth. Summer Constable drove a single to left field for the first hit of her career. Next up, Lilli Piper dropped the ball out of the right fielder’s reach for a hit, moving Constable to third base. Emily Clark battled at the plate to draw a walk and stack the bags. With no hesitation, Kaitlyn Coffman swung on the first pitch, sending the ball sailing over center field for a grand slam.

BUCKEYE BITS

  • Ohio State improved to 2-0 all-time against Army.
  • The Buckeyes stranded seven Black Knights.
  • Ohio State stole a season-high three bases.
  • Kaitlyn Coffman’s grand slam was her first in Scarlet & Gray.
  • It was the first no-hitter by the Buckeyes since Apr. 6, 2016.
  • Emily Clark has gotten on base in the last nine games.

UP NEXT

The Buckeyes will play a pair of games Saturday. The squad will play Utah at 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET before taking on Duke at 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET.