COLUMBUS, Ohio – Chase Buchanan, a sophomore on the No. 4 Ohio State men’s tennis team, was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while head coach Ty Tucker earned his fifth-consecutive Big Ten Coach of the Year laurel Thursday in Bloomington, Ind. Joining Buchanan on the 2010 All-Big Ten Team were senior co-captain Justin Kronauge (unanimous) and freshman Dino Marcan. Senior co-captain Mike O’Connell received the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Ohio State.

With the athlete of the year honor, Buchanan becomes the first sophomore in Ohio State history to earn the conference’s top honor. The Buckeyes have won the award the past three seasons. Last year, Bryan Koniecko became the first Buckeye and just the third Big Ten student-athlete to earn the conference’s top honor in back-to-back seasons. Buchanan is the third Buckeye to win the conference’s player of the year award, joining Koniecko (2008 and 2009) and Vince Ng who received the award in 2003. Currently ranked ninth in the nation by the ITA, Buchanan was a perfect 10-0 in singles and 9-1 in doubles play during the Big Ten regular season. A native of New, Albany, Ohio, Buchanan was 26-4 overall, including a 21-1 mark at No. 1 singles. He posted a 15-4 record vs. nationally-ranked opponents during the 2010 spring season. During the year, Buchanan accumulated six Big Ten Athlete of the Week honors (Feb. 2, Feb. 23, March 9, March 16, April 6, and April 13) to lead the league in weekly awards.

In his 11th season at the helm, Tucker captured his sixth-career Big Ten Coach of the Year honor, leading the Buckeyes to another perfect 10-0 ledger in league action. The Scarlet and Gray have won the Big Ten regular-season title five times in a row. Tucker’s squad has recorded 62-consecutive Big Ten wins, amassing 114 victories in its last 119 conference contests, including the postseason. In 11 years of work, the Zanesville, Ohio, native and former Buckeye has recorded a 123-17 record vs. Big Ten opponents. Previously, Tucker was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 2001, ’06, ’07, ’08 and ’09.

Kronauge, a two-time ITA All-American, garnered his third-consecutive unanimous All-Big Ten selection. The Dayton, Ohio, native went 10-0 in league singles action for the second time in his career. In his final campaign, the 2007 Freshman of the Year took over the top spot on the career combined wins list in the Ohio State record book, collecting 265 career victories, passing Koniecko (254). He currently is second on the all-time career singles wins list with 143 victories, while holding second on the career doubles wins list with 122.

Marcan, a native of Rijeka, Croatia, earned his first-career All-Big Ten selection. The first-year Buckeye posted a 7-3 mark in singles and 9-1 ledger in doubles this season. Ranked as high as 24th in the world in the combined junior ranking, Marcan was 21-8 overall in singles and 28-4 in doubles this year in the regular-season. Paired with Buchanan as the current 15th-ranked doubles tandem in the nation, the Buckeye duo is 15-2 overall with an 11-2 mark at No. 1 doubles. Last summer, Marcan paired with Marin Draganja, also a native of Croatia, to win five matches for the 2009 French Open Junior title.

O’Connell, a senior co-captain from Holland, Ohio, was Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Award winner for men’s tennis. O’Connell has been an influential member of the Buckeye senior class, helping to guide Ohio State to five-consecutive league regular-season titles and No. 1 seeds at the Big Ten tournament. The 2009 class enters its final postseason with a 158-9 overall record (.946), which is the most wins by any class in Ohio State history.

All-Big Ten Team:
Marek Czerwinski, ILL*
Dennis Nevolo, ILL*
Lachlan Ferguson, IND
Jason Jung, MICH*
Evan King, MICH
Sebastian Gallego, MINN
Chase Buchanan, OSU*
Justin Kronauge, OSU*
Dino Marcan, OSU
Eddie Bourchier, PSU
Moritz Baumann, WIS*
Marek Michalicka, WIS*

Athlete of the Year:
Chase Buchanan, OSU

Freshman of the Year:
Evan King, MICH

Coach of the Year:
Ty Tucker, OSU

Sportsmanship Honorees:
Marek Czerwinski, ILL
Isade Juneau, IND
Will Vasos, IOWA
Jason Jung, MICH
Ron Hulewicz, MSU
Tobias Wernet, MINN
Alex Sanborn, NU
Mike O’Connell, OSU
Ryan Gormley, PSU
P.J. Rose, PUR
Michael Dierberger, WIS

* – unanimous selection

                                                                ### ###