Aug. 8, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Jim Brown, Ohio State men’s golf coach, was inducted into the Ohio Golf Association Hall of Fame during a ceremony Monday in Sandusky, Ohio.

The honor adds to his long list of accomplishments at Ohio State, which include 1979 National Coach of the Year and most recently 2004 Big Ten Coach of the Year accolades. He also is a member of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame (inducted in 1989) and was inducted into the Ohio State Hall of Fame in 1991.

“It’s a great honor and humbling experience to be chosen for the Ohio Golf Association Hall of Fame,” Brown, who begins his 34th year as Ohio State head coach this fall, said. “There have been eight members from Ohio State to get in and to be associated with those people is tremendous. I was impressed with the ceremony. The two others that went in with me are and were friends whom I competed against.”

The 2006 Ohio Golf HOF class also included Glenn Apple and the late Joe Ungvary.

Apple, who earned a master of arts degree from Ohio State in 1966, played college golf for Bowling Green and has been an instructor and avid golfer in the Cleveland area for many years.

Ungvary won the 1993 USGA Senior Open along with many other events after graduating from Bowling Green, where he attended on a basketball scholarship. He later coached high school basketball at John Adams and was an assistant coach at Akron.

Brown joins former Buckeyes Rick Jones (1954-56), Jack Nicklaus (1960-61), Tom Nieporte (1950-51), Bob Kepler (1930-32, coach 1938-65), Pandel Savic (football 1947-49), Tom Weiskopf (1962) and George Bellino (1959) in the Ohio Golf Hall of Fame.

Jones (1956), Nicklaus (1961) and Nieporte (1951) all won NCAA individual titles while playing for Ohio State.

Kepler, for whom Ohio State’s annual spring tournament is named, coached the Buckeyes to the 1945 NCAA Championship. Brown, a 1965 Ohio State graduate who also lettered in basketball, led Ohio State to the 1979 title. Ohio Golf Hall of Fame
(Ohio State Inductees in Bold)

Class if 1992
Peggy Kirk Bell
Pete Dye
Earl Hamilton
Bob Hope
Rick Jones (1954-56)
Byron Nelson
Jack Nicklaus (1960-61)
E. Mandell de Windt
Toney Penna
Ed Preisler
Denny Shute
Arnold Palmer
Gov. James A. Rhodes

Class of 1993
Janet Beardsley
William Bosshard
Arthur Hills
Kenneth Young

Class of 1994
Jack Hesler
Nicholas Popa
Chuck Smith
Jan Taylor

Class of 1995
Walker Inman, Jr.
Donald A. Kotnik
Mark H. McCormack
Barbara McIntire

Class of 1996
Tony Blom
Herman Keiser
Tom Nieporte (1950-51)
Rob Rankin
Joseph M. Wells

Class of 1997
John W. Fischer
Michael J. Hurdzan
Jack Kidwell
Bob Servis

Class of 1998
Jack Grout
Bob Kepler (1930-32)
Pandel Savic (1947-49)

Class of 1999
Dow Finsterwald
Dr. Richard Gordin
Henry Picard

Class of 2000
George Mateyo
Jack Waldock

Class of 2001
John “Buckey” Albers
Paul Hornung
Kaye Kessler
George Sweda

Class of 2002
Kermit Blosser
John Kretzschmar
Robert Lewis Jr.
Edward Meister Jr.

Class of 2003
Don Albert
Dan Carmichael, Jr.
Steve Pipoly
Randy Reifers

Class of 2004
Tammie Green
Herb Page
George “Duke” Smith
Tom Weiskopf (1962)

Class of 2005
George Bellino (1959)
Ralph Maltby
Harold Weber

Class of 2006
Glenn Apple
Jim Brown (1963-65)
Joe Ungvary