September 19, 2022

Brian, Craig Sherman Enter MIVA Hall of Fame


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association announced its 2022 Hall of Fame Class Monday with a pair of former Buckeyes earning recognition.

The seven-member class will be inducted into the MIVA Hall of Fame in Muncie, Indiana, Nov. 12. It will follow a fall tournament featuring MIVA members Ball State, Lindenwood, Ohio State and Purdue Fort Wayne. Ticket information will be available soon.

2022 MIVA Hall of Fame
Eduardo Ferraz – Ball State
Barry Long – Ball State
Wes Lyon – Ball State
Rick Niemi – Ball State
Don Purvis – Ball State
Craig Sherman – Kellogg C.C./Ohio State
Brian Sherman – Kellogg C.C./Ohio State

Brian Sherman was a three-time All-MIVA selection in 1977 (Kellogg C.C.), 1978 and 1979 (Ohio State). Sherman led his squads to 32 MIVA wins in those three seasons, which included a 12-0 season at Ohio State in which the Buckeyes claimed the MIVA regular season title. His 1978 squad hosted the NCAA Championship in Columbus.

Craig Sherman is the only student-athlete in MIVA history to be named Player of the Year at two schools: Kellogg C.C. (1980) and Ohio State (1981). The Independence, Missouri, native was Co-Player of the Year in 1980, leading his Kellogg squad to MIVA regular season and tournament championships. After transferring to Ohio State, he won four more titles, two regular season and two tournament, in 1981 and 1982.


Ohio State Buckeyes