Dec. 7, 2015

Tressel National Football Foundation Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio — There’s unfortunately only one game left to be played in Jacoby Boren’s Ohio State career: the BattleFrog Fiesta Bowl Jan. 1 against Notre Dame in Glendale Ariz.

He has but two tests to take in the upcoming finals week — one in a “theme gardens” class and another in plant pathology — and needs just four credit hours next semester to earn his degree in sustainable plant systems.

He can count on probably less than two hands the demanding, physical practices he has left to enjoy as a Buckeye.

So with time winding down on a career as the consummate student-athlete, starring on the football field with 27 consecutive starts for a national champion program and shining in the classroom with a 3.83 overall grade point average, Boren will relax just a bit the next couple of days and take in some sights and sounds of New York City while being honored at the 58th National Football Foundation Annual Awards dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

Boren is part of a 12-member class of NFF Scholar-Athletes who will be honored at this black tie event Tuesday evening along with the newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame and other special award winners. One of the 12 scholar-athletes will win the William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments, which recognizes the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

“I’m excited for the trip and honored to be recognized as a scholar-athlete up for such a prestigious award as the Campbell Trophy,” Boren said Monday. “It means a lot that the National Football Foundation recognizes athletes for their performance on the field and also academically. I’m really looking forward to everything that we are about to be doing.”

Boren flew to New York City Monday with his parents, Mike and Hope, and younger sister, Kallie, and met up with his fiancé, Lindsey Angeletti, and her parents. The schedule over the next two days will include numerous receptions, an evening at Radio City Music Hall to take in the Rockettes’ Christmas Spectacular Show, and the awards dinner with more than 1,600 in attendance.

On Wednesday morning Boren is one of four scholar-athletes asked to participate in a panel discussion, moderated by former Duke basketball player Jay Williams, on the demands of balancing academics and athletics.

Awards Dinner Notes:

  • The dinner will be broadcast on ESPN3 (Click Here To Watch). The William V. Campbell Trophy winner will be announced live between 8:15 and 8:20 p.m. during this feed.
  • In addition to Boren, the 2015 NFF Scholar-Athlete class includes two other Ohio collegians — Jordan Italiano from Kent State and Hank Spencer from Mount Union — and also E.K. Binns (Navy), Jake Brendel (UCLA), Tavese Calhoun (Mississippi State), Derek Crittenden (Montana), Ty Darlington (Oklahoma), Jordan Dobrich (Nevada), Spencer Drango (Baylor), Blake Frohnapfel (Massachusetts) and Jason Vander Laan (Ferris State).
  • NFF Major Award recipients this year include former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice (NFF Gold Medal), Rear Adm. Bill Byrne of the U.S. Naval Academy, Capt. Jared Tew of the U.S. Air Force Academy and Maj. Graham White of the U.S. Military Academy (NFF Distinguished American awards) and MSU Director of Athletics Mark Hollis (John L. Toner Award).
  • Former Ohio State Coach Jim Tressel will be honored as part of a 2015 Hall of Fame class that includes Trev Alberts (Nebraska), Brian Bosworth (Oklahoma), Bob Breunig (Arizona State), Sean Brewer (Millsaps [Miss.]), Ruben Brown (Pittsburgh), Wes Chandler (Florida), Thom Gatewood (Notre Dame), Dick Jauron (Yale), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Lincoln Kennedy (Washington), the late Rob Lytle (Michigan), Michael Payton (Marshall), Art Still (Kentucky), Zach Thomas (Texas Tech), Ricky Williams (Texas) and coach Bill Snyder (Kansas State).
  • In addition to being named Ohio State’s 21s NFF Scholar-Athlete, Boren’s academic achievements include being named a two-time Academic All-American, including first-team honors this season, a two-time Big Ten Conference Distinguished Scholar, a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete.