May 22, 2017

Billy Price, Tyquan Lewis & Sam Hubbard on Watch Lists


May 22, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Three stellar young men – on the field and in the classroom – with the Ohio State football program have been selected to preseason watch lists by the respective, national governing organizations that administer the awards.

Rimington Trophy
Center Billy Price (6-4, 312) has been named to the preseason watch list of the Rimington Trophy, which is awarded to the nation’s outstanding center. Price, from Youngstown, Ohio, was a first-team All-American last year (American Football Coaches Association) and first-team all-Big Ten Conference honoree who has started 41 consecutive games. He graduated this month with his degree in business administration with a specialization in operations management.

Lott IMPACT Trophy
Ohio State is one of four schools to have two nominees to the Lott IMPACT Trophy preseason watch list: defensive ends Tyquan Lewis and Sam Hubbard. The Lott Trophy recognizes athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Lewis, who has his degree in sociology, is a 6-4, 265-pound, three-year starting end from Tarboro, N.C. He is the reigning Big Ten Conference defensive lineman of the year and first-team all-Big Ten honoree. Ohio State’s leader in quarterback sacks in each of the past two years, Lewis enters his senior campaign with 92 career tackles and 27 tackles-for-loss, a total that includes 16.5 quarterback sacks. He also has three pass break-ups and three forced fumbles.

Hubbard, a first-team Academic All-American last year majoring in finance, is a 6-5, 265-pound fourth-year junior from Cincinnati. Already a veteran of 26 games played and 14 starts at defensive end, he ranks second on the team in both career tackles-for-loss (16.0 for 86 yards) and quarterback sacks (10.0). His impressive list of statistics includes 74 career tackles, an interception, three pass break-ups, two fumble recoveries and a forced fumble.

What to Watch for this Summer
For the sixth consecutive season, the members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) will unveil preseason watch lists in a coordinated effort over two weeks in July. Following is the release schedule. All watch lists will be released at 10 a.m. ET on the corresponding days.

  • Mon., July 10: Bednarik Award, Maxwell Award
  • Tues., July 11: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy
  • Wed., July 12: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award
  • Thurs., July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Outland Trophy
  • Fri., July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
  • Mon., July 17: Butkus Award, Paul Hornung Award
  • Tues., July 18: Biletnikoff Award, Wuerffel Trophy
  • Wed., July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
  • Thurs., July 20: Doak Walker Award
  • Fri., July 21: Walter Camp Award