November 30, 2017

Billy Price Named Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year


Nov. 30, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio Billy Price, the four-year starting offensive lineman for the Buckeyes who converted to center this season after three seasons as a guard, was named today as the Big Ten Conference’s Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Price, a two-time first-team all-Big Ten Conference performer, has been the leader of an Ohio State line that features two other first-team performers – left tackle Jamarco Jones and left guard Michael Jordan – and a third team honoree in right tackle Isaiah Prince. This group has powered the Buckeyes to national rankings of No. 4 in total offense, No. 5 in scoring and No. 13 rushing. The team is No. 1 in the Big Ten in all those categories and No. 2 in passing.

A first-team All-American in 2016 by the American Football Coaches Association, Price is a strong candidate for additional All-America honors this year after already having been selected a mid-season All-American by the Associated Press. He is one of the favorites for the Rimington Trophy, which goes to the nation’s top center, and he is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award, which honors student-athletes with notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. He was also a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy.

The two-time team captain has set the Ohio State school record with 53 consecutive starts. He is the third consecutive Buckeye to win the Big Ten’s offensive lineman of the year award, after Taylor Decker in 2015 and Pat Elflein last year.

Ohio State’s Offensive Lineman of the Year
Beginning in 2011, named for Ohio State’s Orlando Pace and Nebraska’s Dave Rimington

2017: Billy Price
2016: Pat Elflein
2015: Taylor Decker
2001: LeCharles Bentley
1996: Orlando Pace
1995: Orlando Pace
1994: Korey Stringer
1993: Korey Stringer