June 11, 2021

Big Ten Conference Schedule Announced 


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference today released its 2021 conference schedules for women’s volleyball. Ohio State’s 20-game conference slate features 10 matches at the Covelli Center, 10 on the road and the conference season begins Sept. 24 at Purdue.

Ohio State will play seven Big Ten programs – Purdue, Penn State, Maryland, Michigan State, Michigan and Rutgers – home and away and single games vs. Indiana, at Wisconsin, vs. Nebraska, at Northwestern, at Illinois and vs. Iowa.

Non-conference match details are still being finalized, but the schedule is starting to take shape:

  • Ohio State will host its Sports Imports Classic at Nationwide Arena Aug. 27 and 28 with the University of Washington, Ohio University and Northern Kentucky University competing;
  • Matches are being scheduled for Sept. 3 and 4 vs. Texas Tech in Lubbock, Texas;
  • Ohio State will travel to Virginia Commonwealth University for a series of matches Sept. 10 and 11; and
  • Dates are still to be determined, but a home-and-home series between Ohio State and Notre Dame will take place the week of Sept. 13.

Ohio State is coming off a terrific, 16-4 season in the first year under the direction of head coach Jen Flynn Oldenburg. The team won its first 13 matches, qualified for the NCAA tournament as the No. 9 overall national seed, and defeated Missouri in the NCAA tournament before losing to Florida in the regional semifinals. Flynn Oldenburg is the first coach in program history to guide the team to the NCAA tournament in her first year.

2021 Ohio State Women’s Volleyball Schedule

As of June 11, 2021

Aug. 27 – Sports Imports Classic*

Aug. 28 – Sports Imports Classic*

Sept. 3 – vs. TBA at Texas Tech

Sept. 4 – vs. TBA at Texas Tech

Sept. 10 – vs. TBA at Virginia Commonwealth

Sept. 11 – vs. TBA at Virginia Commonwealth

TBA – vs. Notre Dame

TBA – at Notre Dame

Sept. 24 – at Purdue

Sept. 26 – at Penn State

Sept. 29 – Indiana

Oct. 2 – Maryland

Oct. 8 – at Michigan State

Oct. 10 – Michigan

Oct. 15 – Purdue

Oct. 16 – Rutgers

Oct. 22 – at Wisconsin

Oct. 24 – at Minnesota

Oct. 29 – at Michigan

Oct. 31 – Michigan State

Nov. 4 – Minnesota

Nov. 6 – Nebraska

Nov. 13 – at Northwestern

Nov. 14 – at Illinois

Nov. 19 – Iowa

Nov. 21 – Penn State

Nov. 26 – at Maryland

Nov. 27 – at Rutgers

*at Nationwide Arena; Tournament includes Northern Kentucky, Ohio U. and Washington

Bold – Home games