PARK RIDGE, Ill. – The seedings and matchups for the 2011 Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament were announced on Sunday following the conclusion of the conference’s regular-season schedule. Michigan receives the tournament’s No. 1 seed after winning its second-straight and third overall Big Ten title. The Wolverines compiled a 10-0 conference record along with a 20-3 overall mark to earn the top seed.
Northwestern earns the No. 2 seed in the tournament for the second-straight year after closing the regular season at 9-1 in Big Ten play and 17-7 overall. Purdue enters the event as the No. 3 seed, posting a 7-3 record in conference and a 13-7 overall mark. Fourth-seeded Ohio State (14-10 overall, 7-3 Big Ten) and fifth-seeded Wisconsin (14-10, 5-5) each also earn first-round byes and will square off in the quarterfinals.
Illinois (9-12, 5-5) holds the No. 6 seed and will battle No. 11 Michigan State (12-11, 1-9) in the first round, with the winner advancing to face the third-seeded Boilermakers. Seventh-seeded Indiana (13-10, 3-7) will take on No. 10 Penn State (6-15, 2-8) in the first round, with the second-seeded Wildcats awaiting the winner in the quarterfinals. Minnesota (7-15, 3-7) receives the No. 8 seed and will face off against No. 9 Iowa (6-15, 3-7). The winner will meet the top-seeded Wolverines in round two.
The tournament is scheduled to begin on Thursday, with first-round matches taking place beginning at 10 a.m. ET at the University of Michigan’s Varsity Tennis Center. Friday will feature quarterfinal matches beginning at 10 a.m. ET, while Saturday will showcase the tournament semifinals starting at 10 a.m. ET. Sunday’s championship match is scheduled for Noon ET.
The Big Ten Network will broadcast the championship match on tape delay on Saturday, May 7 at 10 a.m. ET.