August 21, 2018

Big Ten Reveals 2018-19 Conference Slate


2018-19 Schedule
2018-19 Schedule (PDF)
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The back-to-back Big Ten champion Ohio State women’s basketball team will begin the 18-game conference slate on Dec. 28 when it travels to Purdue. The entire conference schedule was announce by the Big Ten office on Tuesday.

The Buckeyes will open Big Ten play at home on Dec. 31 against Nebraska, marking the fourth-straight season OSU has played on the final day of the calendar year. The Buckeyes have won each of the previous three games.

After playing Maryland just once during the regular season the last two years, the Buckeyes and Terrapins will meet twice this year, first on Jan. 5 in College Park and then again on Jan. 24 in Columbus. Michigan State, Penn State, Rutgers and Wisconsin are the other teams the Buckeyes will play both home and away.

Another of the conference favorites this year will a senior-led Iowa squad and the lone meeting with the Hawkeyes will come here in Columbus on Feb. 10. That will be one of three Sunday home conference games in the final month of the regular season.

Game times and TV assignments will be set sometime in September.

Coming off the two highest scoring years in program history, the Buckeyes must replace all five starters and 93.5 percent of its scoring from last year. Graduate Makayla Waterman, senior Karlie Cronin and juniors Jensen Caretti and Savitha Jayaraman are the lone returners and they will be joined by three freshman and five graduate transfers. The Buckeyes will have six players on the roster this year who have already received their undergraduate degree.