July 6, 2016

Big Ten Recognizes 91 Buckeyes as Distinguished Scholars


July 6, 2016

2016 OSU B1G Distinguished Scholars 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State had a league-high and school record 91 student-athletes named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars, the conference announced Wednesday.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

Sixteen Buckeyes were recognized for maintaining a 4.0 grade-point average during 2015-16: Minori Minagawa (Sr., women’s cross country), Sakiko Minagawa (Sr., women’s cross country), Chelsea Quinn (Jr., field hockey), Grant Weaver (Gr., men’s golf), Kaylee Koker (So., rowing), Anna Ralph (Sr., rowing), Jayla Saibene (Sr., softball), Andrew Abbleby (Jr., men’s swimming and diving), Joey Long (Jr., men’s swimming and diving), Amy Bopp (Jr., women’s swimming and diving), Cheyenne Meek (So., women’s swimming and diving), Nicole Flower (Gr., women’s tennis), Josh Fridley (Jr., men’s track and field), Cole Gorski (So., men’s track and field), Ivy Horn (Sr., women’s track and field) and Kylie Randall (Jr., women’s volleyball).

In addition to finishing second in the Director’s Cup for overall athletic success, the Buckeyes had an outstanding year academically. Ohio State had a conference-record 350 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and a school record 561 student-athletes were recognized as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.

The complete list of 2016 Ohio State Distinguished Scholars is in the PDF above.