Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010-11 academic year, including Ohio State honorees Paul Beery, a senior on the men’s lacrosse team, and Deborah Shim, a senior member of the synchronized swimming team. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes from across the conference honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

Beery, a fifth-year senior, continuously demonstrated sportsmanship throughout his career, both on the field and with his teammates. According to Nick Myers, Ohio State head coach, the Hilliard, Ohio, native is an example of the way an Ohio State lacrosse player is expected to act both on and off the field. He always handles himself with class and integrity and shows respect to all around him.

An Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten selection as a business major, Beery is involved across campus as president of The Accounting Association and treasurer of the Undergraduate Student Government. He takes part in community service projects with the lacrosse team, volunteering at lacrosse clinics, Ronald McDonald House and more. He fought through injury, playing with a broken thumb early in the 2011 season, and played in 11 of 15 games.

Shim, a native of Walnut Creek, Calif., is a three-time All-American, who despite an injury-plagued 2011 season, was an important asset to the Buckeyes as they won both the U.S. Collegiate and U.S. Senior National championships. During the U.S. Collegiate National championships, Shim, along with teammates Alex Beckett and Michelle Theriault placed first in trio and, as member of the Scarlet Team, were the team event runners-up. About three weeks later, the Scarlet squad captured gold when they won the team competition at the U.S. Senior National championships.

At the team banquet, Shim was the Buckeye and Carmen Ohio awards honoree. A student-athlete who exhibits outstanding Buckeye spirit, a strong ability to work well with teammates and coaches, Shim also received the Buckeye Award because of her excellent motivation and clear vision of what it means to be a team player. A team captain, Shim was presented with the Carmen Ohio Award because she exemplifies outstanding leadership and overall team spirit.  

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.
The 2011 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2011 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners
Bill Cole, Sr., Men’s Basketball; Nicole Kump, Sr., Volleyball
Indiana: Andy Bayer, So., Men’s Cross Country; Sara Olson, Sr., Softball
Iowa: Chris Brant, Jr., Men’s Golf; Kelsey Cermak, Sr., Women’s Basketball
Michigan: Frank Shotwell, Sr., Men’s Track and Field; Dorian Shaw, Sr., Softball
Michigan State: Brandon Eckerle, Sr., Baseball; Kathryn Mahoney, Sr., Women’s Gymnastics
Minnesota: Blake Hoffarber, Sr., Men’s Basketball; Dannie Skrove, Jr., Softball
Northwestern: Matt Gailey, Sr., Baseball; Rebecca Lederhausen, Sr., Women’s Golf
Ohio State: Paul Beery, Sr., Men’s Lacrosse; Deborah Shim, Sr., Synchronized Swimming
Penn State: T.J. Howe, Sr., Men’s Golf; Maggie Dunbar, Sr., Women’s Lacrosse
Purdue: Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Football; Jaclyn Hart, Sr., Volleyball
Wisconsin: Scott Tolzien, Sr., Football; Meghan Duggan, Sr., Women’s Ice Hockey