Baseball, rowing and men’s and women’s track and field Big Ten championships to be held in Columbus in May

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                       

Contact: Mike Vest (312) 665-0737 
Big Ten Network to Televise Eight Spring Championships
Champions in baseball, golf, rowing, tennis and track and field to be crowned on network

CHICAGO The Big Ten’s spring championships season is just around the corner and the Big Ten Network will have complete coverage.

The 2009 Big Ten Championships and Tournaments in the sports of baseball, men’s and women’s golf, rowing, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field will receive television coverage between May 3 and May 24. All of these championship events will be produced in stunning high definition.

Broadcast coverage begins at 4 PM ET on Sunday, May 3, with the Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament from the campus of Wisconsin. The Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament, hosted by Michigan, will follow at 6 PM ET.

At 2 PM ET on Sunday, May 17, the Big Ten Network will show the Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships, hosted by Purdue. Immediately after, at 3 PM ET, the Big Ten Rowing Championships will be televised for the first time. 

Another conference first will take place as the Big Ten Network televises every game of the conference baseball tournament live.  The event will take place May 20-23, with a game on May 24 if necessary, at the new Huntington Park in Columbus, Ohio, the home of the Triple-A Columbus Clippers. The event will mark the Big Ten’s first neutral-site baseball tournament since 1994. Coverage begins with two opening-round games at noon ET on Wed., May 20.

At 3 PM ET on May 24, the network will have coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships, hosted by Penn State.  The Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships, from the campus of Ohio State, will follow at 4 PM ET.

In the latest polls, the Big Ten has nationally ranked teams in the sports of baseball (No. 25 Ohio State), men’s golf (No. 13 Indiana and No. 14 Illinois), women’s golf (No. 11 Purdue, No. 20 Michigan State and No. 25 Ohio State), women’s rowing (No. 7 Michigan State, No. 12 Ohio State, No. 14 Wisconsin, No. 15 Michigan and No. 19 Minnesota) men’s tennis (No. 2 Ohio State and No. 11 Illinois), women’s tennis (No. 1 Northwestern and No. 18 Michigan) and women’s track and field (No. 7 Penn State, No. 11 Michigan and No. 15 Minnesota).

The complete television schedule for the 2009 Big Ten Spring Championships and Tournaments appears below. For more information on these events, go to or

Big Ten Network Spring Championships and Tournaments Schedule:
Sport Dates Site Air Date and Time (ET) 

(W) Tennis Apr 23-26 Wisconsin  Sunday, 5/3 4 p.m. 
(M) Tennis Apr 23-26 Michigan  Sunday, 5/3 6 p.m. 
(W) Golf Apr 24-26 Purdue Sunday, 5/17 2 p.m. 
(W) Rowing May 2 Ohio State Sunday, 5/17 3 p.m. 
(M) Golf May 1-3 Penn State  Sunday, 5/24 3 p.m. 
(M&W) Track and Field May 15-17 Ohio State  Sunday, 5/24 4 p.m. 
Baseball May 20-23 Columbus, OH Details Below 

Big Ten Baseball Tournament Schedule:
Game Day Date Air Time (ET)
1. Wed. May 20 12:00 p.m.
2. Wed. May 20 3:30 p.m.
3. Thurs. May 21 12:00 p.m.
4. Thurs. May 21 3:30 p.m.
5. Thurs. May 21 7:00 p.m.
6. Fri. May 22 12:00 p.m.
7. Fri. May 22 3:30 p.m.
8. Fri. May 22 7:00 p.m.
9. Sat. May 23 3:30 p.m.
10. Sat. May 23 7:00 p.m.
11. (if necessary) Sun. May 24 12:00 p.m.

About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of 11 world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in student-athletes’ lives and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. Big Ten universities provide more than $100 million in direct financial aid to more than 8,500 men and women student-athletes who compete for 25 championships, 12 for men and 13 for women. Conference institutions sponsor broad-based athletic programs with more than 270 teams. For more information, visit

About the Big Ten Network: The Big Ten Network is the first nationally distributed network dedicated to covering one of the premier collegiate conferences in the country. With approximately 350 live events, and nearly all of them in HD, the network is the ultimate destination for Big Ten fans and alumni across the country, allowing them to see their favorite teams, regardless of where they live. The network operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, showcasing a wide array of classic-to-current sports and televising more Olympic sporting events and women’s sports than has ever been aired on any other network. Original programming highlights activities and accomplishments of some of the nation’s finest universities. Each year, the network offers approximately 35 football games, 105 regular season men’s basketball games; 55 women’s basketball games; dozens of Big Ten Championship events; Big Ten Tonight, a nightly studio show; coaches’ shows; and classic games. Available to all cable and satellite providers nationwide, the network currently has agreements with more than 250 affiliates, including AT&T U-Verse, Charter, Comcast, Cox (Cleveland), DirecTV, DISH Network, Insight, Mediacom, Time Warner Cable and Verizon FiOS. For updated information on the Big Ten Network, go to