April 21, 2014


ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the seedings and bracket for the 2014 Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament on Sunday night. With its win over Iowa on Friday, Ohio State claimed the outright conference title, its ninth consecutive Big Ten Championship, and the No. 1 seed in the tournament. The top-seeded Buckeyes closed the regular season with an 11-0 record in Big Ten play and a 27-3 overall mark. Ohio State receives a bye into the quarterfinals.

Illinois earns the second seed after finishing the regular season 9-2 in conference matches and 20-7 overall with Penn State (21-4, 8-3 Big Ten) claiming the third seed. Purdue follows as the No. 4 seed after earning a 7-4 mark in Big Ten play and 15-6 overall record. The Boilermakers own the head-to-head tiebreaker over fifth-seeded Northwestern (19-9, 7-4 Big Ten), which will face 12th-seeded Iowa (9-14, 1-10 Big Ten) in the first round, with the winner advancing to take on Purdue. The top four seeds in the tournament receive first-round byes and begin play in Friday’s quarterfinals.

Michigan (14-11, 6-5) earns the sixth seed and will take on No. 11 seed Wisconsin (9-15, 1-10 Big Ten), with the winner advancing to face the Nittany Lions in the quarterfinals. Wisconsin earned the No.11 seed over Iowa by virtue of the head-to-head tiebreaker. Minnesota (11-12, 5-6 Big Ten) claims the seventh seed based on the head-to-head tiebreaker with eighth-seeded Michigan State (11-13, 5-6 Big Ten). The Gophers will meet No. 10 seed Indiana (15-16, 3-8 Big Ten) in the first round with the winner advancing to take on the Illini. Meanwhile, the Spartans will face No. 9 seed Nebraska (12-14, 3-8 Big Ten) for the chance to meet the Buckeyes in quarterfinal action. The Cornhuskers earned the No. 9 seed by claiming the head-to-head tiebreaker against the Hoosiers.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on Thursday, with first-round matches starting at 10 a.m. ET at Michigan State’s Outdoor Tennis Courts. Friday’s quarterfinal matches also begin at 10 a.m., while Saturday will showcase the tournament semifinals starting at 10 a.m. Sunday’s championship match is scheduled for Noon.

BTN will air the championship match on Thursday, May 8, at 7 p.m. ET.