July 9, 2019

📚 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars


Follow @OhioStateRifle:
Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Alli Kissell (athletic training major), Brendan Whitaker (mathematics major) and Megan Wilcoxson (communication major) earned 2018-19 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar recognition, announced by the conference office on Tuesday, July 9.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition in the previous academic year, must have been enrolled full time at the institution for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.70 or better during the previous academic year, excluding any summer grades. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student’s academic career.

This year’s group of 131 Buckeye student-athletes to earn the award surpasses last year’s OSU record total of 129. This is also the fourth consecutive year in which Ohio State has led the Big Ten in total recipients.