May 24, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio–The Big Ten Conference announced the 2001 all-conference first-and second-teams at the conclusion of the Big Ten Outdoor Championships on Sunday, May 20. Andrew Pierce (Sr., Yellow Springs, Ohio), Ian Connor (Sr., Lexington, Ohio), George Hoover (So., Erie, Pa.), Nosa Ehimwenman (Fr., Homewood, Ill.), Katy Craig (Jr., Hilliard, Ohio) and Onica Fraser (So., Brooklyn, N.Y.) were named to the first team after winning conference titles in their respective events.

Dalanda Jackson (Fr., Shaker Heights, Ohio), Tina Johnson (Sr., Burlington, N.J.), Donica Merriman (Sr., Trotwood, Ohio), Joel Brown (So., Baltimore, Md.), Courtney Cornwall (Sr., Inwood, N.Y.), Thomas Dickson (Sr., St. Vincent, West Indies), Rob Myers (So., Rushville, Ohio) and Pierce were honored as members of the second team.

All-Americans Pierce and Connor capped their careers with Big Ten titles. Pierce defended his 400-meter dash crown, winning the event with a NCAA automatic qualifying time of 44.94 seconds. He remains the Big Ten outdoor record holder in the event with a time of 44.87. Connor was one of four multiple first-place winners in the men’s division. He took top honors in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a NCAA automatic qualifying time of 8:42.58 and the 5,000-meter run with a time of 14:30.78. Connor beat NCAA leader Jared Cordes of Wisconsin by more than 15 seconds.

Craig had a stellar performance in the hammer throw. She notched a Big Ten Championship record with her winning NCAA provisional qualifying mark of 195-2. The throw also set a Billy Hayes Track record. All-American Merriman ended her Big Ten season with a second place, NCAA automatic qualifying time of 12.82 in the 100-meter hurdles. Merriman also was a member of the third-place 4×100-meter relay team that clocked a time of 45.31 seconds.

First team honors were awarded to athletes posting first-place finishes and the winning relay teams. Second team accolades were given to individuals and relay teams that earned second-place finishes.