COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State University Department of Athletics and the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion will host the 2010 Big Ten Conference Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships Wednesday through Saturday.

The championships represent the fifth Big Ten or NCAA championship meet the McCorkle Aquatic  Pavilion has hosted since opening in 2005. Next month Ohio State will host the 2010 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships. The major collegiate championships held at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion include:

  • 2010 Men’s NCAA Championships (March 25-27)
  • 2010 Men’s Big Ten Championships (Feb. 24-27)
  • 2008 Women’s NCAA Championships
  • 2008 Women’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2007 Men’s Big Ten Championships
  • 2006 Women’s Big Ten Championships

Michigan is the two-time defending Big Ten Conference champion. Ohio State was runner-up in 2009 (the meet was held at Ann Arbor, Mich.) for its highest conference finish in 31 years. Ohio State returns 18 swimmers and divers who scored points at the 2009 championships, including 200 breaststroke champion Sam Pelkey, a senior from Muncie, Ind. Also returning for Ohio State after red-shirting 2009 is two-time Big Ten 10-meter platform champion (2007 & 2008) Wes Wieser, a senior from Chesterfield, Mo., and 2007 1-meter champion Burkley Showe, a senior from Columbus.  

2010 Big Ten Championships

Men’s Swimming and Diving

Feb. 24-27 – McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

Championship Home Page One can find start times, schedule of events, ticket info, parking info, links to live results and live streaming video, directions and more right here.