COLUMBUS, Ohio – Doug Verhoff headlined the list of award winners as the 2009 Big Ten regular-season and tournament champion men’s soccer team was honored Saturday at the end of year awards banquet at Ohio Stadium. Verhoff earned the Most Valuable Player award, chosen annually by fellow players, as well as the Teri Casperson Academic Achievement Award for the senior with the highest GPA. The four-year letterwinner from Dublin, Ohio also was recognized for his years of service to the squad and his captain status.

Andrew Magill and Joe Moore joined Verhoff in receiving senior awards – a framed photo of the trio following the Big Ten Tournament title game – and Moore added an additional piece of hardware with the Most Improved honor. Moore was a reserve player for much of his first two years with the Buckeyes, but garnered a starting role as a defender in his senior season and scored his first career tally in the Buckeyes’ record-breaking win over Indiana in the Big Ten semifinal. Moore blogged throughout the 2009 campaign on – look back at the season through “Tell Me Moore” here.

Matt Gold, a co-captain along with Verhoff, earned the Linda Daniel Most Inspirational Award for his tireless dedication to the program and its success. Linda Daniel was a former athletic trainer at the university who passed away from cancer.

Finally, sophomore David Tiemstra collected the Coaches Award for his two game-winning goals to capture both of the Big Ten titles. Tiemstra, a native of Clarendon Hills, Ill., found the back of the net in the final second against Michigan Nov. 7 for the 1-0 win and the regular-season crown. He went on to tally the lone goal in the tournament championship in the final minute to lead the Buckeyes over Penn State for their second title in three years.

The 2009 Buckeyes finished the historic season with the best eight-game start in program history en route to a 14-6 record and “the double” titles. Ohio State earned the fourth seed in the NCAA Tournament, the highest seed in program history, but would fall to Drake in the second round in overtime.

Senior Awards:
Doug Verhoff (4 Years), Andrew Magill (4 Years), Joe Moore (3 Years)
Captain Awards: Doug Verhoff, Matt Gold
Teri Casperson Academic Achievement Award: Doug Verhoff
Coaches Award: David Tiemstra
Most Improved: Joe Moore
Linda Daniel Most Inspirational Award: Matt Gold
Most Valuable Player: Doug Verhoff