Oct. 4, 2011

2012 Challenge Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten and Big East conferences have released the schedule for the fourth Big Ten/Big East Baseball Challenge. The 2012 Challenge will feature 10 teams from the Big Ten and nine teams from the Big East playing 30 games over three days to open the college baseball season in the St. Petersburg/Clearwater area Feb. 17-19.

Ohio State will play South Florida, Seton Hall and Connecticut at the event where the Buckeyes are 6-3 all-time. The Buckeyes’ schedule:

Friday, Feb. 17 – 10 a.m. vs. South Florida; Walter Fuller Baseball Complex

Saturday, Feb. 18 – 7:30 p.m. at Seton Hall; Bright House Field

Sunday, Feb. 19 – 1 p.m. at Connecticut; Jack Russell Memorial Stadium

The Big Ten won the inaugural Challenge in 2009, 15-9, while the Big East was victorious in 2010, 17-13, and in 2011, 14-10.

Ticket information for the 2011 Challenge will be released at a later date.

Click on the above link for the complete Big East/Big Ten Challenge release.