Jan. 27, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. – With the inaugural “Super Saturday – College Hoops & Hockey” doubleheader set for Saturday, Jan. 30, in New York City, the Big Ten announced future matchups for 2017, 2018 and 2019, with six more men’s basketball teams and the remaining four hockey programs scheduled to compete at legendary Madison Square Garden.

The doubleheader features conference competition on an annual basis in late January or early February, with nine different Big Ten institutions competing in men’s basketball and/or hockey from 2016-19.

On Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017, Rutgers will host Wisconsin in men’s basketball while Ohio State will take on the Badgers in hockey. On Saturday, Jan. 20, 2018, Minnesota will entertain the Buckeyes on the court, while Michigan State will host the Gophers on the ice. In 2019, Maryland will face Illinois in men’s basketball. The 2019 hockey matchup, times for 2017 and 2018 and date and times for 2019 will be announced at a later date.

The inaugural “Super Saturday – College Hoops & Hockey” doubleheader will feature Penn State and Michigan in both basketball and hockey on Saturday at The Mecca. The basketball game will tip at Noon ET, while the hockey game will begin at 7 p.m. BTN will air both contests. Tickets can still be purchased through Ticketmaster at or by calling (866) 858-0008. Those interested in purchasing a suite for the doubleheader should contact Melinda Churchville of Madison Square Garden at (212) 465-6762.

In Dec. 2014, the Big Ten announced an extensive agreement with Madison Square Garden to feature the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament in New York City for the first time in 2018, along with men’s basketball and hockey doubleheaders from 2016 through 2019 and a significant branding presence both inside and outside the building.

The upcoming schedule for the “Super Saturday – College Hoops & Hockey” doubleheader appears below:




Jan. 30, 2016

Michigan @ Penn State

Michigan @ Penn State

Jan. 28, 2017

Wisconsin @ Rutgers

Wisconsin @ Ohio State

Jan. 20, 2018

Ohio State @ Minnesota

Minnesota @ Michigan State


Illinois @ Maryland


About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions  will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,500 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013. For more information, visit

About The Madison Square Garden Company: The Madison Square Garden Company (MSG) is a world leader in live sports and entertainment with a portfolio of legendary sports teams, exclusive entertainment productions and celebrated venues.  MSG Sports owns and operates some of the most widely recognized sports franchises: the New York Knicks (NBA), the New York Rangers (NHL) and the New York Liberty (WNBA), along with two development league teams — the Westchester Knicks (NBADL) and the Hartford Wolf Pack (AHL).  MSG Sports also presents a broad array of world-class sporting events, including: professional boxing, college basketball, tennis, bull riding and e-gaming events.  MSG Entertainment features exclusive, original productions that include the Radio City Christmas Spectacular and the New York Spring Spectacular, both showcasing the Rockettes.  MSG Entertainment also presents or hosts a wide variety of live entertainment offerings, including concerts, family shows and special events, in the Company’s diverse collection of iconic venues. These venues are: New York’s Madison Square Garden, The Theater at Madison Square Garden, Radio City Music Hall and Beacon Theatre; the Forum in Inglewood, California; The Chicago Theatre; and the Wang Theatre in Boston, MA.  More information is available at