Dec. 6, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State senior center LeCharles Bentley is a first-team pick on the American Football Coaches Association All-America team released today.

Additionally, Bentley and junior safety Mike Doss are on the first-team of the Walter Camp All-America team which will be announced tonight at the College Football Awards Show in Orlando. The latter will be televised by ESPN, beginning at 9 p.m. Both Bentley and Doss will leave later today for Orlando and will return tomorrow in time for the Buckeyes’ initial bowl practice. Bentley, who has now made the first-units of the Football Writers, the Sporting News and the Coaches All-America teams, is considered the leading candidate to win the second annual Dave Rimington Trophy, which goes to the top center in college football. Rimington, the former Nebraska All-American, is the only two-time winner of the Outland Trophy.

Doss, who was named to the 2000 Sporting News All-America team, is the 29th player in Ohio State annals to be a two-time All-America. The last players to do so were cornerback Antoine Winfield and offensive guard Rob Murphy in 1997 and ’98.

Six Ohio State players have received three-time first-team All-America recognition. They are Chic Harley (1916-17, ’19), Wes Fesler (1928-30), Lew Hinchman (1930-32), Merle Wendt (1934-36), Archie Griffin (1973-75) and Tom Skladany (1974-76).