May 15, 2019

Battle and Gray Named Track Athletes of the B1G Championships


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Post season awards have been announced this afternoon after the conclusion of last weekend’s Big Ten Championships. Coach Karen Dennis was unanimously voted by her peers as Coach of the Year while Sophomore Anavia Battle and Senior Nick Gray were named Track Athletes of the Championships.

Coach Karen Dennis was named Coach of the Year for the fourth time in her career after leading the Buckeyes to their fourth Big Ten title after similar victories in 2011 and 2015. Coach Dennis is the first Big Ten coach in over 20 years to lead a men’s and women’s team to an indoor and outdoor sweep consecutively. During the 2017-18 season, the men found the same success as they won both indoor and outdoor.

Anavia Battle went two-for-two in her individual events, picking up a Big Ten title in both the 100m dash (11.32s) and the 200m dash (22.73s). The sophomore picked up her third medal as part of the 4x100m relay championship team. Battle sits in the No. 2 spot in the nation in the women’s 200m dash after her dominate performance in Iowa city. She is the first Buckeye to earn this award since Christina Manning, who was honored in 2011.

Nick Gray made it a Buckeye sweep with his own win in the 200m dash, clocking in at 20.23s to set the Cretzmeyer Track facility record and finish his Big Ten career as an 11-time Big Ten Champion. Gray currently sits at No. 5 in the nation in the men’s 200m dash. He is also the first Buckeye to earn this award since 2007.


Ohio State Buckeyes
Ohio State Buckeyes