February 7, 2018

Bates-Diop One of 10 Candidates for Julius Erving Award


Feb. 7, 2018

RELATED INFO: Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram | 2017-18 Schedule | Naismith Hall of Fame Release

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State redshirt junior forward Keita Bates-Diop has been named one of 10 candidates for the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award. Five finalists will be presented to Erving and the selection committee in March with the winner announced at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles April 6.

2018 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates
Kelan Martin, Butler
Jacob Evans, Cincinnati
Gary Trent Jr., Duke
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Deng Adel, Louisville
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Keita Bates-Diop, Ohio State
Vincent Edwards, Purdue
Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*

Bates-Diop has had a breakout out junior campaign after missing the majority of the 2016-17 season with injury. In 25 games this season, Bates-Diop averages a Big Ten leading 20.2 points per game. He also contributes 8.9 rebounds. He became Ohio State’s 55th player all-time to score more than 1,000 career points and is one of 28 players in Ohio State history to score more than 1,000 points and grab more than 500 rebounds.

A threat from both inside and out, Bates-Diop is shooting 37 percent from 3-point range (47-128) and is scoring at a 51 percent clip overall (186-365) from the field. The Bloomington, Ill., native scored a career-high 35 points his last time out vs. Illinois while adding 13 rebounds. He has been named the Big Ten player of the week four times this season, most-recently claiming the honor Monday after averaging 24 points and 13 rebounds in wins over Indiana and Illinois last week.