May 13, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio – %^$For the 14th time in school history, the Ohio State Buckeyes have won the Big Ten Baseball Championship.%^$

%^$”The loss on Friday was such a heartbreaker,” head coach Bob Todd said. “But this team regrouped and showed heart and character. We put ourselves back into position to win and it worked out in the end.”%^$

%^$Today, the Buckeyes defeated the Michigan Wolverines, 9-2, and the Purdue Boilermakers lost, 2-1, to the Iowa Hawkeyes to clinch the title.%^$

%^$The title is the seventh in 14 seasons under Todd. Every player Todd has recruited to play at Ohio State has left school with a championship ring.%^$

%^$The Big Ten Tournament will now be hosted by The Ohio State University at Bill Davis Stadium. The Buckeyes will open play Wednesday against Michigan at 7 p.m.