May 13, 2001

COLUMBUS, Ohio – For the 14th time in school history, the Ohio State Buckeyes have won the Big Ten Baseball Championship.

“The loss on Friday was such a heartbreaker,” head coach Bob Todd said. “But this team regrouped and showed heart and character. We put ourselves back into position to win and it worked out in the end.”

Today, the Buckeyes defeated the Michigan Wolverines, 9-2, and the Purdue Boilermakers lost, 2-1, to the Iowa Hawkeyes to clinch the title.

The title is the seventh in 14 seasons under Todd. Every player Todd has recruited to play at Ohio State has left school with a championship ring.

The Big Ten Tournament will now be hosted by The Ohio State University at Bill Davis Stadium. The Buckeyes will open play Wednesday against Michigan at 7 p.m.