The Early Years 1881-1951

Ohio State Baseball: The Early Years 1881-1951

Ohio State baseball has long been a part of the university’s history. Only 11 years after The Ohio State University was founded it had a baseball team, the school’s first official sport. Buckeye baseball has written 124 years worth of rich tradition and it seeks to add to that tradition handsomely in 2008.

Starting with its first season in 1881, the baseball program grew from grassroots efforts. With support from the student newspaper, The Lantern, and faculty members, baseball accrued better facilities, and by 1892, Ohio State fielded a team of student-athletes that recorded seven-consecutive wins en route to its first Ohio Champions title.
In 1913, Lynn W. St. John became the first full-time head coach of the Scarlet and Gray. Remarkably, while serving as athletic director, head basketball coach and head baseball coach, St. John would go on to lead the Buckeye “Nine” to 191 wins in 16 seasons, still the fourth-most win total by a coach in program history.
That same year, the Buckeyes joined the Western Conference, which would later form the Big Ten Conference, and went on to capture league titles in 1917, ’24 and ’43 under a string of coaches.

Examine the early years of Ohio State’s first varsity sport with the time line below or view the PDF document at the link above.