Ohio State toes the pitching rubber against Purdue this weekend at Bill Davis Stadium. The series starts at 6:35 p.m. Friday as baseball kicks off Ohio State’s weekend “Scarlet and Gray Days” celebration.  The Buckeyes and Boilermakers will play a doubleheader Saturday starting at 1 p.m. and complete the series at 1 p.m. Sunday.

Examine a history of past captains during the 125 years of Ohio State baseball.  

Lettermen and Captains
Just over 800 student-athletes have lettered in the sport of baseball and one of this year’s team captains junior Justin Miller represents the 151st captain in the history of the program. The 2008 team’s other captain is senior Dan DeLucia. Only 13 individuals have ever been named to captain the team more than once and DeLucia, a fifth-year senior, has the honor of being the first ever three-time Buckeye captain.

Past Captain’s Notes
W.K. Cherryholmes was the captain of Ohio State baseball’s first team, in 1881.
Fred Taylor, the school’s first baseball All-American and the coach of the 1960 national champion Ohio State basketball team, was captain of the 1949 team.
Wayne Wright (1917), Fred Mackey (1927) and Dick Finn (1955) are former baseball captains who served as Ohio State’s head baseball coach. 
Gene Myers was the program’s first two-time captain (1937 and 1939).
Carlton Parrill captained Ohio State’s first College World Series team, in 1951.
Russell Nagelson and Charles Brinkman captained the 1966 College World Series champion Buckeyes.
Ray Shoup (1967) and Bruce Heine (1968) captained two more Ohio State College World Series teams.
Two-time captain Mike Repasky (1993-94) is the school’s only two-time, first-team CoSIDA Academic All-American.
Dan DeLucia, a team captain in 2006 and 2007, will captain the team once again in 2008, thus becoming the first three-time captain in school history.

Programs for the Purdue series can be purchased throughout the concourse or stands at Bill Davis Stadium