COLUMBUS, Ohio The waiting will continue for the Big Ten champion Ohio State Buckeyes. The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 63rd annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship today on and Columbus, Bill Davis Stadium and the 40-17 Buckeyes were not chosen to host one of the 16 regional sites.

The 16 sites, with host institutions and records are as follows:

  • Arizona State (43-12 through Saturday, May 23), Tempe, Ariz.;
  • UC Irvine (42-13 through Saturday, May 23), Irvine, Calif.;
  • Cal State Fullerton (41-14 through Saturday, May 23), Fullerton, Calif.;
  • Clemson (40-19), Clemson, S.C.;
  • East Carolina (42-17), Greenville, N.C.;
  • Florida (39-20), Gainesville, Fla.;
  • Florida St. (42-15 through Saturday, May 23), Tallahassee, Fla.;
  • Georgia Tech (35-17-1), Atlanta;
  • LSU (45-16 through Saturday, May 23), Baton Rouge, La.;
  • Louisville (44-15), Louisville, Ky.;
  • Mississippi (40-17), Oxford, Miss.;
  • North Carolina (42-16), Chapel Hill, N.C.;
  • Oklahoma (41-18), Norman, Okla.;
  • Rice (39-15), Houston;
  • Texas (40-13-1 through Saturday, May 23), Austin, Texas;
  • TCU (36-16), Fort Worth, Texas.

Ohio State Director of Athletics Gene Smith and the athletics administration had pursued hosting an NCAA regional by submitting a bid to host. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29, to Monday, June 1.

“My hats off to Gene Smith and the administration,” coach Bob Todd said. “They put an attractive bid in and showed the NCAA that we are interested in hosting.”

Members of the team will find out Monday if it has received a bid to the tournament and where it will be playing. The team will gather at Bill Davis Stadium around noon to watch the NCAA tournament selection show that will be televised at 12:30 p.m. on ESPN.