COLUMBUS, Ohio The Ohio State baseball team will spend the first five weekends of the 2009 season in the state of Florida competing in tournaments, starting with the initial BIG EAST/Big Ten Challenge Feb. 20-22. The 18-team, 27-game event will be held at venues in St. Petersburg, Clearwater and Dunedin, Fla., highlighted by Friday and Saturday evening doubleheaders at Knology Park, the state-of-the-art spring training stadium of the World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies, and Bright House Field.

Head coach Bob Todd, entering his 21st season leading the program, released dates and most of the game times for the upcoming season Friday. Some notes about the 2009 campaign:

  • This year the Big Ten Conference modifies its four-game conference series to a three-game series with nine-inning games to be held Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
  • According to the Big Ten Conference office, all Big Ten games must be completed to nine innings unless the final game of the series is stopped because of rain or darkness. In that case, the last game will count if it has become regulation (four and one-half or five innings).
  • If a Big Ten game is stopped before completion, it will become a suspended game and completed the following day. The suspended game must be played to its nine-inning conclusion before a new game can begin.
  • If Game 1 is not played on the first day, two nine-inning games shall be played on the second day. If Game 2 has not started on the second day, two nine-inning games shall be played on the third and final day.
  • The loss of eight conference games means the Buckeyes will be playing more games on its spring trips and some multiple-mid-week games during the season.
  • The Buckeyes will play their first midweek road game outside of early season, spring trip games in 11 years when they travel to Louisville, Ky., for a pair of games against the Louisville Cardinals May 5-6. The teams will play two nine-inning games.
  • Ohio State last played a midweek road game April 22, 1998 at West Virginia.
  • Ohio State did play Cleveland State at a neutral field in 2003: Jacobs Field. 
  • The conference slate includes the same teams and the same weekends as the 2008 season with flip-flopped locations.
  • Ohio State will open its Big Ten season on the road for its first two weekends: at Penn State March 27-29 and at Minnesota April 3-5.
  • Home Big Ten weekends will be against Michigan State, Northwestern, Michigan and Iowa.

All 10 of the Big Ten’s baseball-playing institutions will compete in the inaugural BIG EAST/Big Ten Baseball Challenge, hosted by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission. Eight BIG EAST representatives will participate, including South Florida, Connecticut, Georgetown, St. John’s, Seton Hall, West Virginia, Cincinnati and Notre Dame. Each day there will be eight games that feature a BIG EAST team taking on a club from the Big Ten along with one non-conference contest in which two Big Ten schools face off.

Ohio State will play three BIG EAST teams Notre Dame, Connecticut and Cincinnati in its three BIG EAST/Big Ten Challenge games.

The complete Ohio State schedule follows.

2009 Ohio State Baseball Schedule
As of Nov. 17, 2008

Date Day  Opponent           Location             Time 
20   Fri. vs. Notre Dame#    Dunedin, Fla.         7:30 p.m.
21   Sat. vs. Connecticut@   St. Petersburg, Fla.  4 p.m.
22   Sun. vs. Cincinnati@    St. Petersburg, Fla.  10 a.m.
27   Fri. at North Florida   Jacksonville, Fla.    7 p.m. 
28   Sat. vs. George Mason   Jacksonville, Fla.    3:00 p.m.
28   Sat. at North Florida   Jacksonville, Fla.    7:00 p.m.

1    Sun. vs. Connecticut    Jacksonville, Fla.    11:00 a.m.
6    Fri. vs. Rhode Island   Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
7    Sat. vs. Northeastern   Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
7    Sat. vs. Maine          Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
8    Sun. vs. Cent. Michigan Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
13   Fri. vs. Pittsburgh     West Palm Beach, Fla. TBA
14   Sat. vs. SIU-E’ville    West Palm Beach, Fla. TBA
14   Sat. vs. UMBC           West Palm Beach, Fla. TBA
15   Sun. vs. N. Dakota St.  West Palm Beach, Fla. TBA
20   Fri. vs. Indiana        Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
21   Sat. vs. Army (DH)      Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
22   Sun. vs. Hartford       Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
23   Mon. vs. Rollins        Winter Haven, Fla.    TBA
24   Tue. vs. TBA            TBA                   TBA
27   Fri. at Penn State      State College, Pa.    6:35 p.m.
28   Sat. at Penn State      State College, Pa.    2:05 p.m.
29   Sun. at Penn State      State College, Pa.    1:05 p.m.
31   Tue. Xavier             Columbus, Ohio        2:05 p.m.

1    Wed. Marshall           Columbus, Ohio        2:05 p.m.
3    Fri. at Minnesota       Minneapolis, Minn.    TBA
4    Sat. at Minnesota       Minneapolis, Minn.    TBA
5    Sun. at Minnesota       Minneapolis, Minn.    TBA
8    Wed. Morehead State     Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
10   Fri. Michigan State     Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
11   Sat. Michigan State     Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.

12   Sun. Michigan State     Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
15   Wed. Kent State         Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
18   Fri. at Purdue          West Lafayette, Ind.  TBA
19   Sat. at Purdue          West Lafayette, Ind.  TBA
20   Sun. at Purdue          West Lafayette, Ind.  TBA
22   Tue. Ball State         Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
24   Fri. Northwestern       Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
25   Sat. Northwestern       Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
26   Sun. Northwestern       Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
29   Wed. Akron              Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.

1    Fri. Michigan           Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
2    Sat. Michigan           Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
3    Sun. Michigan           Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
5    Tue. at Louisville      Louisville, Ky.       TBA
6    Wed. at Louisville      Louisville, Ky.       TBA
8    Fri. at Illinois        Champaign, Ill.       TBA
9    Sat. at Illinois        Champaign, Ill.       TBA
10   Sun. at Illinois        Champaign, Ill.       TBA
12   Tue. Eastern Michigan   Columbus, Ohio        12:05 p.m.
14   Thu. Iowa               Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
15   Fri. Iowa               Columbus, Ohio        6:35 p.m.
16   Sat. Iowa               Columbus, Ohio        1:05 p.m.
20-24     Big Ten Conference Tournament            TBA


  • All home games (in bold) will be played at Bill Davis Stadium.
  • All times listed as Eastern Time.
  • #Played at Knology Park
  • @Played at Progress Energy Park