October 5, 2017

Barrett & Price Named Senior CLASS Award Candidates


Oct. 5, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s already graduated tandem of quarterback J.T. Barrett and center Billy Price were today named candidates for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® for their respective careers excelling both on and off the field. They are among 30 student-athletes chosen. Ohio State is one of two schools with two Senior CLASS candidates (Toledo).

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Barrett, from Wichita Falls, Texas, is the reigning Big Ten Conference quarterback of the year and who shared the Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football last season as the league’s best player, has set 28 school or Big Ten records. On top of breaking Drew Brees’ Big Ten mark for touchdowns this year, he has set Ohio State records for passing yards and total offensive yards. Saturday against Maryland he could climb into the NCAA’s all-time Top 25 for rushing yards by a quarterback with a 99-yard game. A three-time team captain, Barrett has degree in communication.

Price, from Austintown, is a highly regarded Rimington Award candidate who is coming off a first-team All-America season in 2016. A four-year starter along the line who has started 46 consecutive games, Price earned his degree in business administration with a specialization in operations management. He is a two-time team captain.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January. For more information on the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Matt Anderson, California
J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
Drew Brown, Nebraska
Daniel Carlson, Auburn
Austin Corbett, Nebada
Marcus Davenport, UTSA
Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green
Emmanuel Ellerbee, Rice
Rashard Fant, Indiana
Zaire Franklin, Syracuse
Shaquem Griffin, UCF
Mason Hampton, Boise State
Josey Jewell, Iowa
Micah Kiser, Virginia
Justin Lawler, SMU
Allen Lazard, Iowa State
Joe Ostman, Central Michigan
Billy Price, Ohio State
Scott Quessenberry, UCLA
Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
Jeremy Reaves, South Alabama
Canon Rooker, Middle Tennessee
JK Scott, Alabama
Blaise Taylor, Arkansas State
Cody Thompson, Toledo
Johnny Townsend, Florida
Drue Tranquill, Notre Dame
Mike White, Western Kentucky
Logan Woodside, Toledo
Kenny Young, UCLA