September 30, 2020

Award Winners Announced At Annual Banquet


COLUMBUS, Ohio – While COVID-19 has changed just about everything over the last six months, one tradition it didn’t effect was the Ohio State men’s lacrosse team coming together to celebrate its 2020 season and the people that makes its program special.

Although it looked different this year – the banquet was held via Zoom instead of at its traditional location at the Blackwell – the Buckeye family still celebrated its many accomplishments and looked forward with anticipation for what is to come in 2021.

One of the highlights of the event was the announcement of team award winners. They were:

  • Greg Bice Unsung Hero Award – Lukas Buckley: A team captain in 2020, Buckley played in 55 career games and finished with 50 career points. He’s currently working and living in Boston and was signed last spring as a free agent by the Boston Cannons of Major League Lacrosse.
  • Groundball Award and John Minnis Defensive MVP – Ryan Terefenko: A first-team preseason All-American, Terefenko led the team with 30 ground balls in seven games and was tops in the Big Ten among non-faceoff specialists with an average of 4.28 per game.
  • Outstanding Freshman – Jake Snyder: Snyder started all seven games at close defense in 2020, had five caused turnovers and helped the Buckeyes finish with the Big Ten’s top scoring defense.
  • Paul Hartman Most Improved Award – Griffin Hughes: A junior in 2020, Hughes entered the season with three career points in 11 games. Through seven games last spring, he scored 12 goals, added four assists and was shot .545 (12 goals on 22 shots).
  • Offensive MVP – Tre Leclaire: Leclaire was second in the Big Ten in goals scored (26) and third in goals per game (3.71) through seven games last season. He’s currently second on Ohio State’s all-time goals scored list with 135, 12 shy of Logan Schuss’ career record.
  • Sportsmanship Award – Joey Salisbury: A senior, Salisbury started all seven games and had a career-high 16 ground balls in just seven contests. A four-time OSU Scholar-Athlete, three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a 2020 USILA Scholar All-American, Salisbury also earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar accolades for having a grade-point average of 3.70 or better. He graduated in May with his degree in accounting.
  • Mark Bergey Community Service Award – Dayton Fisher: Fisher recently completed his second year in the program and led all players in total community service hours. He volunteered his time with organizations such as 2nd and 7, Nationwide Children’s Hospital and the Heinzerling Foundation.
  • Outstanding Scholar-Athletes – Jake Snyder, Connor Mitchell and Grant Mitchell: This trio, all freshmen last year from Baltimore, Md., tied for the highest grade-point averages on the team.
  • Al Brady Service Award: Mark Bergey – Bergey recently finished his 11th season as the team’s director of operations and 12th overall with the program. His duties include everything for video editing to organizing team travel and day-to-day logistics.