A week-long series on Ohio State’s Big Ten Medal of Honor finalists continues today with a profile on Linda Haussener from the field hockey team. A three-time All-American, she is also a three-time NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete.

Linda Haussener graduates from Ohio State with her name throughout the Buckeye record books. She concluded her career as a First Team All-America by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. It was the third NFHCA All-America team she has been named to after second-team honors as a junior and third-team honors as a sophomore. Haussener was only the fifth Buckeye to receive three All-America awards in her career.

Haussener, a native of Baden, Switzerland, also earned NFHCA First Team All-West Region recognition three times in her career and was the sixth Buckeye to earn First Team All-Region honors three or more seasons. She added the NFHCA awards to her Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Year, unanimous First Team All-Big Ten and Big Ten All-Tournament Team honors her senior season.

Leading the Big Ten in overall scoring throughout the season, Haussener finished with 52 points, sixth most in a season by a Buckeye. She had an eight-point margin over the second-highest player and also led the league with 20 goals. Haussener was held without a point in just four of 21 games this season. In conference play alone, the co-captain tied for the lead with 14 points (6g, 2a) in six games.

Haussener wrapped up her career with her name among the best in Ohio State history. She ranks fifth in career goals with 45, tied for fifth in assists with 31 and fifth in scoring with 121 points. Seven of her goals were gamewinners and she was a perfect 4-of-4 on penalty strokes

An award winner in the classroom as well, Haussener was a three-time NFHCA National Scholar Athlete. A double-major in political science and economics, she also is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten and OSU Scholar-Athlete honoree. Following graduation this spring, she may pursue an opportunity to continue playing field hockey in Spain for the next year or she will enroll in post graduate study at the University of St. Gallen in Switzerland in 2010.

The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor
In 1914 the Conference established a Medal of Honor to be awarded annually at each member institution to a student in the graduating class.  An additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982.  Chosen by the Athletic Council, the winners of this most prestigious award are the male and female senior student-athletes who have attained the greatest proficiency in both academics and athletics. This honor includes a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship which can be used at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

Ohio State’s men’s and women’s Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients will be announced at the 2009 OSU Scholar-Athlete Dinner at the Columbus Convention Center Wednesday.

With Honor series:
Day 1: Steven Moneke, men’s tennis and Kim Reeder, softball
Day 2: James Laurinaitis, football and Jayme DeLancy, synchronized swimming
Day 3: Alyssa Meyer, women’s gymnastics and Jake Bateman, men’s gymnastics
Day 4: Brian Robiskie, football and Kristen Gilwee, women’s lacrosse
Day 5: J Jaggers, wrestling and Linda Haussener, field hockey