A week-long series on Ohio State’s Big Ten Medal of Honor finalists continues today with a profile on wrestler J Jaggers. The two-time national champion and Ohio Staet Scholar-Athlete earned his bachelor’s degree in communication in March.

Before making his debut as the volunteer assistant coach of the wrestling team next season, J Jaggers will be known for leaving an impressive imprint on the two-time national runner-up Buckeyes. In 2009, the three-time All-American joined an exceptional class of wrestling Buckeyes as the 141-pound national champion in back-to-back seasons in 2008 and 2009. He joins Tommy Rowlands, a 2002 and 2004 heavyweight champion and Kevin Randleman, the 177-pound champion in 1992 and 1993 in this elite group.

Ending his senior campaign with a 28-7 ledger, Jaggers completed his career with a remarkable 108-33 record.

After winning his first national championship in dramatic fashion where he held on for the title with 16 seconds left despite suffering a severe ankle injury, Jaggers successfully defended his title this past spring, proving “you don’t just stumble on two national championships.”

The 2008 Greater Cleveland Athletic Sports Commission Collegiate Athlete of the Year, Jaggers is a two-time National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic and Academic All-Big Ten Team selection, as well as a two-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. Jaggers currents is an assistant coach with the Ohio State wrestling program and is considering continuing his training in hopes of making the 2012 Olympic Team.

The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor
In 1914 the Conference established a Medal of Honor to be awarded annually at each member institution to a student in the graduating class.  An additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982.  Chosen by the Athletic Council, the winners of this most prestigious award are the male and female senior student-athletes who have attained the greatest proficiency in both academics and athletics. This honor includes a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship which can be used at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

Ohio State’s men’s and women’s Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients will be announced at the 2009 OSU Scholar-Athlete Dinner at the Columbus Convention Center Wednesday.

With Honor series:
Day 1: Steven Moneke, men’s tennis and Kim Reeder, softball
Day 2: James Laurinaitis, football and Jayme DeLancy, synchronized swimming
Day 3: Alyssa Meyer, women’s gymnastics and Jake Bateman, men’s gymnastics
Day 4: Brian Robiskie, football and Kristen Gilwee, women’s lacrosse
Day 5: J Jaggers, wrestling