A week-long series on Ohio State’s Big Ten Medal of Honor finalists continues today with a profile on women’s lacrosse senior Kristen Gilwee. The record-setting goalie and three-time all-conference selection is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete.

Kristen Gilwee, a four-year starter in goal for the Buckeyes, set Ohio State women’s lacrosse records for most career saves with 513 and most career wins with 29 in 2009, collecting 133 saves and 10 wins this season. In the 14-year history, Gilwee is the only Buckeye goalie to hit the 500 plateau mark in career saves and is only the second to record 400 or more saves. As a senior, the Hunt Valley, Maryland, native backstopped Ohio State to its best start in program history as the squad opened the year 9-1 to best the 2002 season that started 8-1. For her show-stopping efforts, Gilwee was named the American Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Week twice in 2009.

Against conference-foe Johns Hopkins this season, Gilwee post 19 saves, the fifth-best single game effort in OSU history, and made 17 stops at Notre Dame, the 10th-best single game effort. Her career-high for saves in a game stands at 20, notched as a freshman and then again as a junior which ranks third in the all-time record book. In her career, Gilwee earned a start in 58-of-60 games played.

A four-time OSU scholar-athlete and 2007 and 2008 Academic All-ALC honoree, she earned second-team All-ALC honors in 2006, ’07 and ’09. A native of Hunt Valley, Maryland, she will graduate in June with a degree in international studies and world economies and will begin work as an account manager at Brandon Walker Marketing in Dublin.

The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor
In 1914 the Conference established a Medal of Honor to be awarded annually at each member institution to a student in the graduating class.  An additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982.  Chosen by the Athletic Council, the winners of this most prestigious award are the male and female senior student-athletes who have attained the greatest proficiency in both academics and athletics. This honor includes a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship which can be used at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

Ohio State’s men’s and women’s Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients will be announced at the 2009 OSU Scholar-Athlete Dinner at the Columbus Convention Center Wednesday.

With Honor series:
Day 1: Steven Moneke, men’s tennis and Kim Reeder, softball
Day 2: James Laurinaitis, football and Jayme DeLancy, synchronized swimming
Day 3: Alyssa Meyer, women’s gymnastics and Jake Bateman, men’s gymnastics
Day 4: Brian Robiskie, football and Kristen Gilwee, women’s lacrosse