A week-long series on Ohio State’s Big Ten Medal of Honor finalists begins today with a features on Kim Reeder. The senior softball pitcher, who leads her team into the NCAA regional this weekend, ranks among the top Buckeyes all-time in the record books and also is a leader in the classroom for the squad. 

As her senior season winds down, Reeder has already cemented herself as one of the most successful pitchers in Ohio State softball history. She is currently second all-time in career wins with 74, trailing the leader by two, and innings pitched with 735.2. Over the last four years, Reeder has been the leader of a class that will end its careers among the Top 2 winningest senior classes after appearances in the 2006 and 2007 NCAA Regional and a win in the 2007 Big Ten Championship. 

In the 2009 season alone, Reeder earned Big Ten Pitcher of the Week honors three times and became the first Buckeye to be selected as USA Softball Collegiate National Player of the Week. The senior captain helped lead the Buckeyes to a five-game sweep of the Easton Tiger Classic in Baton Rouge, La., Feb. 13-15. Named the tournament MVP, she compiled a 3-0 record in the circle with wins against a then No. 5 Texas A&M and No. 20 LSU. Reeder holds a 22-5 record with six wins coming against opponents ranked in the Top 25 and an overall 1.45 ERA. She has thrown nine shutouts, a mark that stands as fourth among single-season totals, and has 182 strikeouts to her credit.

Reeder recently earned first-team CoSIDA Academic  all-district honors, becoming eligible for Academic All-America honors. She also is a four-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and three-year recipient of the team’s academic award for highest GPA, in addition to being a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America Scholar-Athlete.

A native of Salinas, Calif., Reeder is a communications major. She intends to spend her last year at Ohio State improving her fluency in Spanish and will pursue graduate school and a graduate coaching position for the 2010-11 school year. 

The Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor
In 1914 the Conference established a Medal of Honor to be awarded annually at each member institution to a student in the graduating class.  An additional award for the top female was instituted in 1982.  Chosen by the Athletic Council, the winners of this most prestigious award are the male and female senior student-athletes who have attained the greatest proficiency in both academics and athletics. This honor includes a $5,000 post-graduate scholarship which can be used at an institution of the recipient’s choice.

Ohio State’s men’s and women’s Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients will be announced at the 2009 OSU Scholar-Athlete Dinner at the Columbus Convention Center Wednesday, May 20.

With Honor series:
Day 1: Steven Moneke, men’s tennis and Kim Reeder, softball
Day 2: James Laurinaitis, football and Jayme DeLancy, synchronized swimming
Day 3: Alyssa Meyer, women’s gymnastics and Jake Bateman, men’s gymnastics