• The Ohio State football team will hold an open practice in Ohio Stadium at 7:30 p.m. Aug. 24. Admission is free to the public. Stadium gates will open at 6:30 p.m. with the 2009 Buckeyes expected to arrive at 7:15 p.m. There will not be an autograph session prior to practice. For the most convenient free parking, fans should park in the lots adjacent to St. John Arena and the Schottenstein Center.

Men’s Basketball
Head coach: Thad Matta
• Kevin Kuwik has been added to the Ohio State men’s basketball staff as video coordinator, head coach Thad Matta announced Aug. 11. He joins the Buckeyes after spending the 2008-09 campaign as the director of operations at Butler and 14 previous seasons in various collegiate basketball coaching and administrative capacities.

Women’s Basketball
Head coach: Jim Foster
• Making the 2009-2010 preseason “Wade Watch” list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year from Ohio State were junior Jantel Lavender and sophomore Samantha Prahalis. The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.
• Prahalis scored 21 points in the 2009 USA U19 World Championship Team’s 87-71 victory over Spain in the championship game Aug. 2 in Bangkok, Thailand. The U.S. now owns a record four gold medals and one bronze at the FIBA U19 Worlds.

Head coach: Jim Tressel
• Ohio State tight end Jake Ballard was named to the 2009 John Mackey Award watch list released by the Nassau County Sports Commission July 29. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2009 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 10, 2009.
• Terrelle Pryor, the 2008 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, was named to the 2009 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (The O’Brien) Watch List Aug. 3. The recipient will be honored February 15, 2010 at the 33rd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.
• Dan Herron was named a candidate for the 2009 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.
• Kurt Coleman was named to the 2009 Jim Thorpe Award preseason “watch list” Aug. 8. He is recognized as one of 31 of the nation’s best defensive backs.
• Woody Hayes, the heart and soul of Ohio State football for 28 years, was named to The Sporting News’ list of the Top 50 Greatest Coaches of All-Time July 29, as selected by a panel of 118 Hall of Famers, championship coaches and other experts. Hayes came in at No. 27, joining three other Big Ten football coaching legends, Penn State’s Joe Paterno (No. 13), Michigan’s Bo Schembechler (No. 36) and Chicago’s Amos Alonzo Stagg (No. 40).

Men’s Golf
Head coach: Donnie Darr
• Michael Cress, a rising junior, advanced past sectional qualifying to earn a spot in the field at the 2009 U.S. Amateur. The Dublin, Ohio, native fired rounds of 69-71 for a total of 140 on the Moraine Country Club’s golf course in Dayton to tie for the lowest score. The U.S. Amateur will be held Aug. 24-30 at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Okla.

Women’s Golf
Head coach: Therese Hession
• Lancaster native Allie White won the Ohio Am, besting Lynn Thompson 10 & 8 in the 36-hole final. White, who will be a sophomore with the Buckeyes after transferring from North Carolina at the end of last season, took that momentum to the 109th U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship in St. Louis. She made it through the stroke play qualifier and advanced past the first two rounds of match play to the Round of 16. There White ran into First Team All-America Stephanie Kono from UCLA and was defeated, 2 up.

Men’s Gymnastics
Head coach: Miles Avery
• Brandon Wynn, Steven Spencer and former Buckeye Jake Bateman (2006-09) will be representing the Ohio State men’s gymnastics program at the 2009 VISA Championships Aug. 12-14 in Dallas, Texas. The 2009 men’s senior division field is comprised of 48 athletes, including three 2008 Olympians. Action starts with the qualifier at 8 p.m. EST Wednesday leading up to the finals slated for 8 p.m. EST Friday at Dallas’ American Airlines Center.
• Ohio State finished the academic year with a 3.226 cumulative grade point average to earn the highest finish of any Big Ten program in the national academic team race, the College Gymnastics Association announced July 28. The Buckeyes, who had seven student-athletes receive First Team CGA All-America Scholar-Athlete honors and one on the second team, placed sixth

Women’s Gymnastics
Head coach: Carey Fagan
• Ohio State had five student-athletes recognized as Scholastic All-America honorees for attaining a 3.50 or higher grade point average in the 2008-09 academic year, the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches/Women announced Aug. 4.
• With a team GPA of 3.35, Ohio State recorded the third-highest finish among Big Ten programs coming in 25th nationally. Michigan State ranked third with 3.65 GPA followed by Minnesota in seventh (3.52). Southeast Missouri State was first with a 3.91 GPA.

Men’s Lacrosse
Head coach: Nick Myers
• The 2009 “Thumbs Up” event will feature the Ohio State taking on Johns Hopkins Oct. 9, Ohio State head coach Nick Myers announced Aug. 4. The fall-ball scrimmage will be held at 7 p.m. under the lights at Upper Arlington High School in Columbus.

Head coach: Andy Teitelbaum
• A trio of current or future Buckeyes in Anniken Ellingsen, Regina Pieroth and Claudia Wurzel concluded action at the 2009 World Rowing Under-23 Championships in Racice, Czech Republic, July 25-26. Highlighting the event was incoming freshman Pieroth and Germany’s gold-medal performance in the lightweight quad (BLW4x). Their time of 6:34.99 also was a world best. Ellingsen, who will be a junior this fall, finished seventh overall in the lightweight single (BLW1x), while Wurzel, who lettered for the Buckeyes from 2007-09, and the Italian straight four (BW4-) earned the silver medal.

Men’s and Women’s Tennis
Head coaches: Ty Tucker and Chuck Merzbacher
• The Ohio State men’s and women’s tennis teams were named as 2009 ITA All-Academic Teams and Buckeyes Julie Blackmore, Christina Keesey, Steven Moneke and Mike O’Connell earned ITA Scholar-Athlete status, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced Aug. 10.
• Members of both tennis teams concluded the national collegiate circuit at the 2009 ITA/USTA National Summer Championships Aug. 10 at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center in Bloomington, Ind. Highlighting competition for the Buckeyes was on the men’s side as rising juniors and No. 2-seed Matt Allare and Shuhei Uzawa won the doubles championship after defeating No. 4-seed Stephen Havens and Dan Stahl of Notre Dame, 8-2, in the final.
• In the singles bracket for the women six members of the team competed in the main draw including rising seniors Keesey and No. 4-seed Kirsten Flower, rising juniors No. 9-seed Paloma Escobedo and Cami Hubbs, rising sophomore Kelsey Haviland and incoming freshman Gabrielle Steele. Flower made it the farthest, falling in the fourth round to No. 9 Alexa Guarachi of Alabama.

Women’s Volleyball
Head coach: Geoff Carlson
• Ohio State earned its second-consecutive Team Academic Award from the American Volleyball Coaches Association as noted in the July 21 AVCA release. The award honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale. In Division I, 71 schools were honored for the 2008-09 season, with Ohio State the only Big Ten school on the list.