February 27, 2020

Andrew Loy Wins First Individual Big Ten Title



Final Results | Twitter

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team collected its first individual medal and racked up five Top 3 finishes on Thursday evening in Bloomington, Ind. to put the Buckeyes in sole possession of second place after day two of the Big Ten Championships. Senior Andrew Loy earned his first individual Big Ten title in the 200 IM while Paul DeLakis and Lyle Yost earned silver medals and Sem Andreis won his first bronze medal. The Buckeyes finished the night with a runner-up performance in the 400 Medley Relay, improving on last year’s fourth place finish.

Every Buckeye swimmer claimed an NCAA B cut on the evening while the 400 Medley Relay team of Jonah Cooper, Jason Mathews, Noah Lense and Andrew Loy earned an NCAA A cut. The four Buckeye divers in the A and B finals notched 94 team points while all posting NCAA A scores.

Top Team Scores

  1. Michigan – 555
  2. Ohio State – 401
  3. Indiana – 397
  4. Wisconsin – 274.5
  5. Purdue – 263

500 Freestyle

  • Carson Burt was the lone Buckeye swimmer to compete in the finals of the 500 Freestyle. He touched seventh in the B Final with a new personal-best time of 4:23.18.

200 IM

  • Andrew Loy claimed his first individual Big Ten title with a time of 1:42.03 in the 200 IM. Teammate Paul DeLakis finished second at 1:42.25 as the duo notched 60 team points for the Buckeyes.
  • Last year, Loy finished seventh in the event while DeLakis finished third.
  • Three Buckeyes competed in the C Final of the 200 IM including Matthew Abeysinghe, Daniel Gloude and Jason Mathews. The trio tallied 14 points for the Scarlet and Gray.

50 Free

  • Sophomore Sem Andreis won the bronze medal in the 50 free with a new career-best time of 19.18.
  • Colin McDermott placed third in the B final with a time of 19.79 while Josef Pohlmann finished ahead of the field in the C final with a time of 19.93.

400 Medley Relay

  • In the last event of the evening, the relay squad of Jonah Cooper, Jason Mathews, Noah Lense and Andrew Loy claimed silver with a time of 3:05.07. They tallied another 56 team points for the Buckeyes.

1-Meter Diving

  • Freshman Lyle Yost, sophomore Jacob Fielding and junior Jacob Siler all competed in the A final and earned a combined 77 team points. Yost was the Big Ten runner-up with a score of 377.75, just 5.85 behind the first-place finisher.
  • Joseph Canova competed in the B Final and earned another 17 points for the Buckeyes.

500 Freestyle

15. Carson Burt (4:23.18)

200 IM

1. Andrew Loy (1:42.03)

2. Paul DeLakis (1:42.25)

18. Daniel Gloude (1:45.63)

21. Matthew Abeysinghe (1:46.64)

22. Jason Mathews (1:46.67)

50 Freestyle

3. Semuede Andreis (:19.18)

11. Colin McDermott (:19.79)

17. Josef Pohlmann (19.93)

400 Medley Relay

2. Jonah Cooper, Jason Mathews, Noah Lense, Andrew Loy (3:05.07)


2. Lyle Yost (377.75)

5. Jacob Fielding (342.95)

6. Jacob Siler (335.95)

10. Joseph Canova (326.80)

Up Next

Competition resumes tomorrow with a preliminary session beginning at 11 a.m. at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatics Center in Bloomington, Ind. Events will include the 100 yard butterfly, 400 yard IM, 200 yard freestyle, 100 yard breaststroke, 100 yard backstroke, 200 yard freestyle relay and three-meter diving.