Nov. 22, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS – The Big Ten Conference and Indiana Sports Corporation announced Wednesday (Nov. 22) that all-session tickets for the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox Live will go on sale to the general public on Saturday, Nov. 25 at 10 a.m. EST. The 2007 tournament features all 11 Big Ten teams, competing in 10 games over four days of competition to crown the 2007 winner, which will earn the conference’s coveted automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

The 13th annual women’s event will be back in Indianapolis, March 1, 2, 4 & 5, 2007, where it has been staged in 11 of the 12 previous years. The bracket for the 2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, along with information on tickets, travel, lodging, tournament history and more, can be found at both and

2007 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament presented by Xbox Live
All-session tickets for the women’s tournament are $65 and will be available at the Conseco Fieldhouse box office, Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling Ticketmaster at (317) 239-5151.

The Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament returns to Indianapolis for the 12th time in 13 years and has attracted more than 30,000 fans for each of the last five events. The 2006 tournament attendance of 38,638 and session average of 7,728 were both event records in the 12-year history of the tournament. The previous marks of 37,635 and 7,527 were set in 2004. The single-session record of 9,417, which was set in 2004, still stands. The five most recent editions of the women’s tournament have posted the highest attendance in the event’s history, surpassing the 30,000-patron mark each year. In the past 12 years of Big Ten Tournament play, the conference has welcomed more than 353,000 fans. Six different conference representatives have become tournament champions. Purdue leads all teams with five titles followed by two championships for both Iowa and Penn State and single titles for Indiana, Michigan State and 2006 winner Ohio State. Fans wishing to purchase all-session tickets within their university’s fan block are encouraged to contact their school’s ticket office. Single-session tickets will go on sale February 3, 2007.

Ticketmaster Charge-by-Phone Numbers Local to Big Ten Universities
Champaign (217) 351-2626; Bloomington (812) 333-9955; Iowa City (319) 363-1888; Ann Arbor (248) 645-6666; East Lansing (517) 484-5656; Minneapolis (651) 989-5151; Evanston (312) 559-1212; Columbus (614) 431-3600; University Park (570) 693-4100; West Lafayette (765) 743-5151; Madison (608) 255-4646.

The Big Ten Conference is an association of 11 world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in student-athletes’ lives and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. Big Ten universities provide in excess of $89 million in athletic scholarship aid to more than 8,400 men and women student-athletes who compete for 25 championships, 12 for men and 13 for women. Conference institutions sponsor broad-based athletic programs with more than 270 teams. For more information, visit

Indiana Sports Corporation (ISC), a private not-for-profit entity, has a focused and critical purpose – attract and bring to Indiana marquee sporting events in a first-class manner. Since 1979, we’ve done just that:

Attracting and helping stage more than 400 national andinternational sporting events to Indiana, generating more than $3billion in direct economic impact; Convincing 10 elite nationalsports organizations to move their headquarters to Indianapolis,including the NCAA, which in total contribute $91 million annuallyto the Indiana economy; and Impacting tens of thousands of Indianayouth each year with convincing messages and real-life examplesshowing healthy lifestyle choices, character and leadershipdevelopment.

For more information, visit