November 17, 2021

All-Region Honoree Engel Headed to NCAA Championships


NCAA Cross Country Championships Central

COLUMBUS, Ohio — With a third-place finish at Saturday’s NCAA Great Lakes Regional, Addie Engel, a freshman on the Ohio State women’s cross country team, earned a spot at the 2021 NCAA Championships.

Engel qualified as an individual, placing third behind two runners from Notre Dame, who advanced as a team. The Buckeye ran a personal best time of 19:59.6, less than four seconds back of first place.

The NCAA Championships will be held Saturday at Apalacheee Regional Park in Tallahassee, Fla., hosted by Florida State. The women’s 6K race will start at 10:20 a.m. and will be televised live on ESPNU, and the ESPN App. Live results will be online HERE.

By placing in the Top 25 of the NCAA Regional field, Engel also earned all-region honors from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). It was the 14th all-region honor for a Buckeye since 2011.

Engel has been in the Top 16 in all six of her races this year and in the Top 4 four times. She was fourth at the Big Ten Championships to earn First Team All-B1G accolades.

Buckeyes at NCAAs

Addie Engel is the seventh Buckeye to qualify as an individual for the NCAA Championships since 2010. Ohio State qualified as a team in 2009, 2014 and 2019.

She joins …

  • Christine Frederick (2017/167th place finish)
  • Katie Borchers (2013/40th)
  • Nicole Hilton (2011/142nd)
  • Tori Brink (2011/120th)
  • Meredith Wagner (2010/75th)
  • Ellen Birmingham (2010/73rd)

Maureen Cogan was Ohio State’s first individual NCAA qualifier and finished 34th at the 1983 national championships. Kathy Monard, another individual qualifier, recorded the Buckeyes’ best finish at the NCAA meet, placing ninth in 1986.

Monard and Borchers earned All-America honors for their finishes at NCAA meets. Borchers placed 34th in 2014 when the team qualified, making her the program’s first two-time cross country All-American. Cogan was the program’s first All-American, earning the honor after finishing 22nd at the AIAW race in 1981.